Say hello to Miss Lily’s Lovely Ladies

I have long been a fan of Jackie French’s kids & YA fiction so I was looking forward to this- her first adult fiction title. I was not disappointed!

Jackie writes beautifully so it’s very easy to put yourself in the world of Sophie Higgs, young Colonial heiress, who has been sent away to England to be “finished” at the home of Miss Lily. Sophie’s father knows that there is a wider world outside Australia for his intelligent & headstrong daughter and he hopes that she may be exposed to more eligible gentleman than those at home. Sophie must learn to curb her outspoken tendencies and learn all about her feminine wiles under the tutelage of the kind but strict Miss Lily. But who really is Miss Lily?

Sophie and her new friends are presented in the last ‘season’ before the start of The Great War. How can all they’ve learnt now be put to good use in helping the war effort at a time when friends are now enemies?

This book has it all- romance, history, espionage and ultimately, mystery. We do get the answer to who Miss Lily is, but there is more to come in French’s planned sequels. A satisfying & solid read of which I now can’t wait for more! Fans of Downtown Abbey, Julian Fellowes, Fiona Mcintosh and other historical fiction will enjoy Miss Lily’s Lovely Ladies.

-Susan, QBD Eastland

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related Posts

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones eThe Six. A lifetime holding it together.One party will bring it crashing down. Malibu- August, 1983.

When You Are Mine by Michael Robotham

‘An edge of your seat standalone supsense novel from the author of The Secrets She Keeps. Following police officer Philomena, this psychological thriller delves into