Black Blue and Neon Pink Modern Tech Electronics and Technology X-Frame Banner

2021: A Year In Review

For QBD Books, 2021 has proven to be another challenging year with great highs and an abundance of obstacles to overcome. Thanks to the drive and creativity of our incredible QBD Books team nationwide, we have rallied together and accomplished many great achievements. Not only did we win the “Large Retailer of the Year” award at the National Retail Awards, but we also worked alongside various organisations to raise money for important causes, opened new stores, and more. 

Today, we are going to take a journey back through the year and revisit our Books of the Month! 

JANUARY: We started 2021 with the adrenaline filled “Kill A Stranger” by Simon Kernick as our Fiction Book of the Month. This story made us think – how far would you for the one you love – and just well do you really know them? For our Children’s Book of the Month, we highlighted Nevertell” by Katharine Orton. Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone and Catherine Doyle, this is a gorgeous and snowy adventure full of magic and wonder for junior readers!

FEBRUARY: This month, we celebrated the haunting “Girl A” by Abigail Dean as our Fiction Book of the Month. For our Children’s Book of the Month, we were excited to feature “Amari and the Night Brothers” by B. B. Alston.   

MARCH: In this month, we featured the stunningly tense “Other People’s Houses” by Kelli Hawkins – perfect for fans of “The Girl on the Train”. For our Children’s Book of the Month, we featured “The Golden Tower” by Belinda Murrell – an ideal story for children who adore adventure, action, and magic.

APRIL: This month, our Fiction Book of the Month was “The Chase” by Candice Fox – a story that sees 650 of the world’s most violent people pour out from Pronghorn Correctional Facility, commencing one of the biggest manhunts in history. Our Children’s Book of the Month was “Becoming: Adapted for Younger Readers” by former first lady of the United States, Michelle Obama.   

MAY: This month, our Fiction Book of the Month was “Vanished” by ground-breaking author James Delargy and our Children’s Book of the Month was the magical “Wednesday Weeks and the Tower of Shadows” by Dennis Knight and Cristy Burne.

JUNE: This month, our Fiction Book of the Month was the edge-of-your-seat thriller “Falling by T.J. Newman” and our Children’s Book of the Month was “The Under Dogs Catch a Cat Burglar” by Kate and Jol Temple.

JULY: This month, our Fiction Book of the Month was the pulse-racing standalone thriller “When You Are Mine” by Michael Robotham and our Children’s Book of the Month was the hilarious and heartbreaking “The Caravan at the Edge of Doom” by Jim Beckett.

AUGUST: In August, we introduced our FIRST Non-Fiction Book of the Month “Last Shot” by Jock Zonfrillo – the coming-of-age memoir of addiction, ambition, and redemption in the high-stakes world of Michelin star kitchens. Our Fiction Book of the Month was the heart-stopping thriller “When You Are Mine” by Michael Robotham and our Children’s Book of the Month was the wonderful “Pow Pow Pig” by Anh Do.

SEPTEMBER: In this month, our Fiction Book of the Month was the riveting, provocative thriller “The Housemate” by Sarah Bailey. Our Children’s Book of the Month was “The School for Talking Pets” by Kelli Anne Hawkins and our Non-Fiction Book of the Month was “Rogue Forces” by Mark Willacy. 

OCTOBER: In this month, our Children’s Book of the Month was the fantasy-adventure graphic novel “Treasure in the Lake” by Jason Pamment. Our Fiction Book of the Month was “Treasure & Dirt” by Chris Hammer – an unputdownable standalone thriller. Finally, our Non-Fiction Book of the Month was “The Happiest Man on Earth” by Eddie Jaku. In this post, we would like to pay our respect to Eddie who passed earlier this year.

NOVEMBER: This month, our Fiction Book of the Month was the highly anticipated historical adventure “The Spy’s Wife” by Fiona McIntosh. Alongside this, our Non-Fiction Book of the Month was “Love Stories” by Trent Dalton and our Children’s Book of the Month was “How I Became a Dog Called Midnight” by Ben Miller.

DECEMBER: To end this wonderful year, our Fiction Book of the Month was the brilliant and utterly captivating “Before You Knew My Name” by Jacqueline Bublitz. For our Non-Fiction Book of the Month, we were thrilled to feature “The Storyteller” – a memoir by music legend, Dave Grohl. And finally, our Children’s Book of the Month was the magical “Seven Wherewithal Way” by Samantha Ellen Bound.

For more Book of the Month content, you can visit our web page here: https://www.qbd.com.au/botm/ 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Key

Related Posts

Author Q&A with Justin Smith

Justin Smith is an incredibly talented Australian journalist, broadcaster, and author. In his award-winning career, Justin has hosted national programs, embedded with Australian troops in Afghanistan, and

Your 2022 Summer Reading List

There is no better time than the summer to sit back, relax, and enjoy an incredible book. If you’ve been contemplating what to read next

QBD Book Club – January Highlights

Each month, our fantastic “QBD Book Club” hosts Lee Carseldine and Victoria Carthew get together and talk about incredible titles from various genres. This month,

New Year, New You!

With the new year upon us, there is no greater time to start (or continue) your self-development journey. If you’re looking for the best books