Father’s Day GOT Madness

With the popularity of George RR Martin's Game of Thrones series growing ever higher and the complex relationships contained within, it was inevitable that some witty people would relate it to Father's Day.

For your enjoyment here are a few of the best travelling the internet at the moment. We have (of course) omitted anything too unseemly or spoiler-filled but you get the idea...

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

QBD Reviews: Demon Road by Derek Landy

9780008141233Demon Road again captures Landy's signature wit, and his characters stay true to form and amazing. I couldn't put this one down, in fact I finished the last chapter around 2am less than a week after I purchased it. this is a fantastic read and an excellent edition to any library, and a must have for Derek Landy fans.

-Braydon Edward-Batten, QBD Eastland

Breaking News: Dustin Fletcher Retires.

9781742613062

AFL legend Dustin Fletcher has called time on a career spanning more than 20 years and 400 games after a groin injury denied him the chance to play a farewell game this weekend.

“It’s been a huge honour to play at the same club as my dad and the team you supported as a kid, and to pull on the jumper for more than twenty-years is something that I’m very proud of,” Fletcher said.

“I’d like to thank my wife Suzie, my boys Max and Mason and my family and friends for their support over my career, it’s been great to celebrate the success with them and they’ve always been there for me after a win or a loss.

“I’d also like to thank the members and supporters for the way they’ve treated me and my family over the years. Celebrating with them after winning the flags in ’93 and 2000 was really enjoyable and their support, especially over the past three years, is something that I won’t forget.

Dustin-Fletcher-QBD-Highpoint-banner-600x600“I’ve loved every minute of playing for Essendon, I’ve been fortunate to win a couple of premierships and shared some great memories with my team mates and good friends.

“I’d like to especially thank Kevin Sheedy, James Hird and Doc Reid for their support and friendships over the whole journey. I can walk away knowing I gave everything I could for this Club.”

Fletcher retires as one of the most watched AFL players in the game's history & holds Essendon's games record (400).

Are you a fan of Fletch? You can meet him & wish him well at QBD Highpoint this weekend at his book signing, right outside QBD the Bookshop!

Quote source: http://www.essendonfc.com.au/

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

9780099590378

After reading most all of Murakami's books, it has become apparent that he follows a formula that doesn't stray from the usual too often. He deals mostly with coming of age stories, the journey from adolescence to adulthood in all its awkwardness, from first loves and heartbreaks to trying to find your place in the world. But although it tends to be much more of the same you always find yourself cheering for the protagonist every step of the way. I find this tends to come from how relatable and normal his characters tend to be (even if most reading this review are not Japanese youth), You will always find yourself in the story feeling those same awkward emotions that to most people will be familiar.

In Colourless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage , this formula is much the same but instead of the reader following the the protagonist on his journey through youth, we find ourselves in the shoes of 36 year old Tsukuru Tazaki, a train station engineer in Tokyo, who is still haunted by events of his former years. At age 20, Tsukuru was kicked out of a group, one that he had thought to be an unbreakable bond between five friends, 3 boys and 2 girls. Each member, bar himself, had colourful names: Red, Blue, White and black. This represents how he has always thought of himself, as someone with no special features, not ugly but not handsome, not dumb but in no means exceptionally smart and so on. As such he goes through the rest of his life believing that his mediocrity is the reason he was removed from the group.

His melancholic life set to the tune of ‘Le Mal Du Pays’ by Liszt (a classical song referenced multiple times throughout the book, and a tell tale sign you are reading a Murakami novel) changes when he meets a girl who encourages him to find closure and discover why he was removed from the group before she will continue to be intimate with him. As such for the first time since the events 16 years earlier, Tsukuru makes an effort to find out what happened, a journey that sends him back to his hometown and even across the world, where he finds all is not as it seemed, and that maybe there was more to his abandonment than previously assumed.

For first time Murakami readers you may find many loose ends that are not resolved, but that is much to the charm of his books, and if you decide to go back to other novels such as his classics IQ84 and Norwegian Wood this is something you will learn to appreciate in his writing. This is one of my favourite Murakami books to date, and shows that even at age 65, he can still take the mundane everyday life and make it seem magical.

Book of the Month: Solomon Creed by Simon Toyne

9780007551361

The lone survivor of a plane crash in the Arizona desert, Solomon Creed has no memory, no shoes and only one thing on his mind- run.

Sprinting towards a small town in the distance and supposed safety, one name comes to Solomon's mind- James Coronado. Solomon knows he must save this man, but he doesn't know why, or what from.

When he arrives, Solomon finds that James Coronado is dead, and he has a burning need to solve his murder. Aided by James' widow, Solomon embarks on a quest for the truth, exposing an appalling town secret that leaves destruction in it's wake.

Chilling, with a wild west mood, Solomon Creed is a fast-paced action thriller that leaves you wanting more.

Perfect for fans of Lee Child, Stephen King and Robert Ludlum.