Blog

Reviewsday: Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

 

Step boldly into a Wundrous new world of magic with Nevermoor!

"Nevermoor is the first book in a magical new series and is set to become one of the biggest children's books of the year. The story is at times reminiscent of Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, A Series of Unfortunate Events and more recently A Most Magical Girl. Despite these likenesses, Nevermoor is wonderfully original and captivating read for all ages.

Morrigan Crow is a true underdog; a cursed child shunned by all, including her family. An extraordinary rescuer comes to her aid and thus launches Morrigan and us as readers headlong into a 'Wundrous' new world where she must remain long enough to discover her awesome true calling. A secret society, a magical hotel, a vampire dwarf and a giant talking Magnificat are just a few enchanting elements of this riveting series that will leave you wanting more." - Nola, QBD Fountain Gate

Nevermoor is available in store and online now.

Can't wait to get started? Read an excerpt here.

Hurstville’s Hot Reads

Today our Hurstville team give us the low-down on their favourite and latest reads!

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli:

If you're after a cute book that will leave you feeling all warm and fuzzy, then look no further! Simon, a teenage boy, is too afraid to come out to his friends and family, but this doesn't stop him having an anonymous pen pal - and it's someone who goes to his school. This pen pal knows everything about Simon, including, and especially, his sexuality. In an enthralling read, Simon has to deal with how to come out to friends and family, how to deal with his crush on the cute boy in his class, and trying to figure out who his pen pal is. It's adorable and it's just plain fun. With summer and the holidays coming up, it's the perfect book to have with you at the beach or by the pool. -Mersini

Looking for Alaska by John Green:

In honour of John Green’s first novel in 6 years, Turtles All the Way Down, being released today I have decided to review Looking for Alaska which is my all-time favourite book.
Looking for Alaska is about 3 friends whose lives are so transformed by a certain experience that they now only see time as ‘before’ and ‘after’ that event.
Before: Miles “Pudge” Halter is sick of his boring, predictable life so he attends Culver Creek boarding school in Alabama to seek his “Great Perhaps” and get more out of life. There he meets Alaska Young and Chip “The Colonel” Martin. Together they go on a whirlwind of adventures.
After: Nothing is ever the same.

This book is very memorable with a powerful impact. I read it many years ago and I’m still recommending it to a lot people. It’s the first book where the plot twist just completely shocked me. This fantastic coming of age novel that doesn’t have a predictable happily ever after ending is a must read! - Bel

I'll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson:

I’ll Give You The Sun is a captivating story told from the alternating perspectives of twin siblings. This novel follows Noah and Jude as they take us through the tragedies that tore them apart and the complications of family and friendship. Filled with heartbreak, wisdom, and joy, this story is very hard to put down. While the writing style is different to the ‘norm’, I really think that this may be what makes the story so intriguing. Nelson has written an amazing story that is definitely worth a read! - Lara

Force of Nature by Jane Harper:

I thought Jane Harper's debut novel The Dry was fantastic but Force of Nature has definitely topped it!

What has happened to Alice Russell?
Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.
The hike through the rugged Giralang Ranges is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.

Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case. She knows all the secrets: about the company she works for and the people she works with.

Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers run far deeper than anyone knew.

Absolutely mind blowing unput-a-downable mystery thriller from one of our home grown authors,I highly recommend Force of Nature to anyone who listens! - Sal

Meet Our October Book of The Month!

Jane Harper's second novel, Force of Nature, featuring Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk is a gripping crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat!
And luckily, it's our October Book of the Month! But we won't gush on...we'll let Jane tell you all about the book herself:

Here's what our teams around Australia are saying:

Following the phenomenal debut of her first novel, 'The Dry', Jane Harper returns with the equally well-written and suspenseful, 'Force of Nature'. Harper successfully combines the whodunit prowess of Agatha Christie with the relentlessness of the Australian Bush. 'Force of Nature' provides a fast-paced read that uses all it's characters to deliver a layered and complex example of crime-fiction. 4.5 stars. - T.S., Innaloo QBD

I loved it! Another spellbinding thriller full of suspense from Jane Harper, just like her debut novel The Dry.
Alice Russell goes missing during a team building exercise in rugged bushland, with Aaron Falk called into help solve the mystery once again. A page turner from the beginning, it kept pace but was a bit anti-climatic at the end. I'm patiently awaiting her next novel! 4 stars. - R.D., Strathpine QBD

Addictive and atmospheric, Force of Nature is suspenseful in a way you simply have to experience for yourself. Jane Harper effortlessly captures a sense of place, highlighting the dangers of the Australian bush as five women try to navigate their way out..and only four return. With a fine line between the truth and lies, and a mini-cliffhanger at the end of each chapter - I could not put it down! 4.5 stars. - E.A., Miranda QBD

Harper lives up to the hype in her highly anticipated sequel, Force of Nature. The characters, plot, and realistic setting are as superb and well-crafted as they were in her award-winning debut The Dry. I recommend this book to anyone that enjoyed Big Little Lies—the book, or the television show—anyone who read and enjoyed The Dry, and all lovers of a good-old-fashioned 'whodunit' story. 5 stars. - T.H., Browns Plains QBD

Jane Harper impresses her ever-widening readership again with this corporate-crime thriller which develops the Australian landscape into a character just as dark, secretive and brooding as the others. Police procedural continues to get its Harper makeover, Patricia Cornwell meets Liane Moriarty with Fiona Palmer standing nearby in a pair of jeans. 3.5 stars. - J.D., Doncaster QBD

Keep It Off With Michelle Bridges!

Michelle Bridges is back with a fabulous new book designed to help you achieve and maintain a healthy lifestyle. 

Keeping It Off is filled with delicious recipes & meal plans including 15-minute dinners, meals on a budget, batch cooking and prep-ahead lunchboxes.We're lucky enough to have a sneak peek at a few recipes from the book. Check out the delicious Thai Chicken Drumsticks & Green Rice recipe. We taste-tested it and it is scrumptious! You can also see 3 more recipes here.

Need to work out but can't get to the gym? Not sure where to start with exercise? No worries. With easy-to-follow workouts you can do at home or on holiday Michelle has you covered. All of the exercises can be done without special equipment and are great for beginners and above!

This book is the complete package and will inspire you to develop habits that maintain good health...for life. Get it in store or online today.

 

 

Cosy up with QBD Carindale’s must-reads!

 

Our Carindale team have put together a great selection of their favourite reads for you to cuddle up with in the air-con this Summer!

 

The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond:

A gorgeous novel about love and life; family and tragedy and ultimately finding your place in the world. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Giovanna Fletcher. - Emily (Store Manager)

The Dry by Jane Harper:

An awesome murder mystery, set in a rural town in Australia. Full of twists and turns and deep dark secrets, this is one book that is impossible to put down. Read it before seeing the movie! - Tia

The Beach by Alex Garland:

The Beach follows Richard, a gap-year student who has embarked on a trip to Vietnam that will change his perception on day to day life. The Beach is a dark but riveting adventure that really gets you thinking about the price of paradise. This was made into a movie starring Leonardo Dicaprio. - Nick

Leading by Alex Ferguson:

A no-nonsense and insightful look into the life of a great sporting leader of our time. This book draws many similarities to how Fergie's leadership principals can be adapted in other businesses and the importance of a strong work ethic. A fantastic read for Manchester United supporters and the neutral fan alike. It's hard to argue with the results Fergie has produced. -Charles

Northern Lights by Nora Roberts:

A romantic mystery that has it all; A dark hero, a tough independent female, breathtaking description of Alaska and a criminal investigation with lots of danger. Put it all together and you have a fast paced intense read which will keep you turning pages to the end. - Gina

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh:

This book gives stark, raw insight into the lives of Scotland's undesirables. An incredible, fast paced read that explores the battle between addiction and the will to live. - Kara

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

When I first started reading Vampire Academy, I was worried it would be the typical vampire/werewolf love story but thankfully it wasn't. Compared to other paranormal authors, Richelle Mead doesn't focus on the romance between characters so much that the plot line gets lost in between. The character development is one of the amazing factors of this series along with hilarious scenes. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from focused love triangles without a story. - Cassandra