Page: 1

Tag / Winners

Newsflash: 2019 Booker Prize winners announced

This year’s Booker Prize has been announced in London today and for the first time in almost 30 years, the prize has been jointly awarded to two authors – Margaret Atwood for The Testaments and Bernadine Evaristi for Girl, Woman, Other.

The judging panel (Peter Florence, Liz Calder, Xiaolu Guo, Afua Hirsch and Joanna MacGregor) said that The Testaments and Girl, Woman, Other were “fully engaged novels, they are both linguistically inventive, they are adventurous in all kinds of ways. They address the world today and give us insights into it and create characters who resonate with us, and will resonate with us for ages”.

Evaristo’s win makes her the first black woman to win the Booker since it began in 1969 and the first black British author. At 79, Atwood becomes the prize’s oldest winner. The Canadian author previously won the Booker in 2000 for The Blind Assassin; she becomes the fourth author to have won the prize twice.

The pair
will split the literary award's £50,000 prize money equally.

Our Kim Kardashian winners!

9780789329202Our Kim Kardashian competition has been drawn and the lucky winners of the signed book plates are....

Fiona Florentina & Renee Savage !

We all have our favourite Kim Kardashian-West moments, but these two in particular made the judges laugh out loud.  

My favourite Kim moment is when she put on several different types of wigs and invented new characters for herself! -Fiona

My favourite Kim moment is in season one of KUWTK when she hits Khloe over the head with her hand bag it was so funny and relatable to anyone that has sisters - Renee

Thankyou so much to everyone who took the time to enter! 

And the Winners Are

Sadly, the Insurgent Competition ended on Thursday night. There were so many creative entries it was very hard work for our judges!

All the lucky winners have been notified and will be in possession of their prize very soon! (if they haven't gotten it already!)

And our winners are:

Melinda Mees

Fritzie Juaneza

Kim Armstrong

Catherine West

Bri Brook

Josephine Gunther

Anita Lam

Rebecca Pidgeon

Tenaya Krachenko

Melissa Finger


But don't despair if you didn't win- there's still plenty of time to enter our Longest Ride Competition! Entries close at 5pm today, March 30 2015.  For full details (and the all-important entry form) click on the banner below.