Blog

Page: 1

Tag / The Nowhere Child


QBD reviews: The Wife and The Widow

Have you picked up our Book of the Month, Christian White's The Wife and the Widow, yet?

Set against the backdrop of an eerie island town in the dead of winter, The Wife and the Widow is a mystery/thriller told from two perspectives: Kate, a widow whose grief is compounded by what she learns about her dead husband's secret life; and Abby, an island local whose world is turned upside down when she's forced to confront the evidence that her husband is a murderer. But nothing on this island is quite as it seems, and only when these women come together can they discover the whole story about the men in their lives.

What our reviewers thought:

An unsettling and shocking murder mystery set on a small island off the coast of Melbourne, where a Wife hunts for answers about the murder of her husband and discovers things are not as she thought. The twists in this novel were second to none - completely unexpected and skilfully plotted. Easily one of the best crime thrillers I have read all year. One word - Brilliant!

Tricia, QBD Books Bondi

From the author that gave us The Nowhere Child comes another thrilling masterpiece that will leave you questioning if you truly know those close to you. A widow is left unravelling the secrets her husband left behind, while a wife starts to question if her husband could in fact be a murderer. A truly incredible narrative, full of twists and turns. Another amazing Aussie crime author to watch.

Rosie, QBD Books Mandurah

Get your copy of The Wife and The Widow here.

Meet Our July Book of the Month: The Nowhere Child by Christian White

 

'Her name is Sammy Went. This photo was taken on her second birthday. Three days later she was gone.'

On a break between teaching photography classes, Kim Leamy is approached by a stranger investigating the disappearance of a little girl from her Kentucky home twenty-eight years earlier. He believes Kim is that girl.

At first she brushes it off, but when Kim scratches the surface of her family background in Australia, questions arise that aren't easily answered. To find the truth, she must travel to Sammy's home of Manson, Kentucky, and into a dark past. As the mystery unravels and the town's secrets are revealed, this superb novel builds towards a tense, terrifying and entirely unexpected climax.

The Nowhere Child is QBD Books' July Book of the Month! Pick up your copy in store or online today. 

What our QBD readers are saying:

"I have never experienced a book quite like the Nowhere Child. The characters practically leap off the page with their vivid natures and stark personalities. The alternating chapters unmask the truth behind Sammy Went's future and Kimberley's past, each segment leaving you begging for more. Christian White has stepped up to the mantle for this phenomenal debut, and is a name to watch in future." - Paige, Penrith QBD

"Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will devour this debut novel set in both the past and the present. Sammy Went was taken from her Kentucky home when she was two. Is it possible that twenty eight years later, Stu has finally found his missing sister? Action-packed and dripping in mystery til the last. As the secrets, both past and present, unravel, you will be left questioning who to trust."- Rosie, Carousel QBD

"It's always a breath of fresh air to have an Australian author debut into any genre, but crime is still waiting for its Aussie star. Christian White is that star. With world-building and suspense rivalling Stephen King and characters that could out-charm a Jane Harper hero, 'The Nowhere Child' will have you hanging on until the turn of the final page. This is one novel you can't afford to miss. "- Samuel, Geelong QBD

"I loved this: a slow-burn mystery in which no-one is who they seem. Kim's sense of self disintegrates when a stranger tells her that she was abducted as a child. Determined to uncover the truth, she follows the trail from Australia to small town America. There are some great Stephen King-ish touches and an elegant ending twist. I don't consider myself a crime reader, but I enjoyed this so much!" - Amy, Strathpine QBD

 

Can't wait to get your hands on this awesome novel? Read an extract here