Blog

Page: 1

Tag / Romance


Meet our March Book of the Month – Star Crossed by Minnie Darke

"Love is written in the stars"

Our March book of the month is a sparkling romantic comedy in which a young journalist tampers with a magazine's horoscopes to win her friend's heart, with unpredictable (and hilarious) results!

When Justine Carmichael (Sagittarius, aspiring journalist and sceptic) bumps into her old friend Nick Jordan (Aquarius, struggling actor and true believer) it could be by chance. Or it could be written in the stars. Justine works at the Alexandria Park Star - and Nick, she now learns, relies on the magazine's astrology column to guide him in life. Looking for a way to get Nick's attention, Justine has the idea of making a few small alterations to 'Aquarius' before it goes to print. It's only a horoscope, after all. What harm could it possibly do?

What our readers think...



A quirky light- hearted read for those who enjoy romantic comedies. When Justine runs into her old childhood friend Nick, her crush on him is quickly renewed. Once she finds out that Nick bases his life choices on the horoscopes that are written in the paper Justine works for, she decides to make a few small changes to them before they go to print, leading to unforeseen effects for everyone - Amanda, QBD Blacktown

Star crossed had me hooked from the start! I'd never had an interest in horoscopes until this book. I found it incredibly clever how Minnie interwined the tales of numerous side characters in an easy to read fashion. The perfect read for anyone who enjoys rom coms or is even slightly interested in horoscopes. Crossing my fingers and toes that this stunning story will become a movie in the future! - Amelia, QBD Strathpine

Justine, a sceptic, employs the power of astrology to gain the attention of Nick, childhood friend and true believer. What harm can come from changing the horoscopes in a magazine, after all? But Justine will learn Nick is not the only Aquarius that takes life advice from the magazine she works at. Lighthearted and humorous, it reminded me of Zoe Foster Blake's easy-to-consume chick lit titles. - Rosie, QBD Carousel

Get your copy of Star Crossed in store or online today!

Book-A-Like: Anna and The French Kiss & Just One Day

Get swept up in these endearing romances...

BALMar10Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins:
Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her co-worker at the movie theatre, who is just starting to return her affection. So she's less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étieene St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he's taken- and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she's been waiting for?

Just One Day by Gayle Forman:
When sheltered American good girl Allyson "LuLu" Healey first meets laid-back Dutch actor Willem De Ruiter at an underground performance of Twelfth Night in England, there's an undeniable spark. After just one day together, that spark bursts into a flame, or so it seems to Allyson, until the following morning, when she wakes up after a whirlwind day in Paris to discover that Willem has left. Over the next year, Allyson embarks on a journey to come to terms with the narrow confines of her life, and through Shakespeare, travel, and a quest for her almost-true-love, to break free of those confines.

QBD Reviews: The Beautiful Series by Christina Lauren

Who doesn't love a man in a suit? Especially one who takes control and goes after what he wants.

The Beautiful series by powerhouse romance duo Christina Lauren (Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings) have delivered a series that will make you swoon in every instalment. An office romance is something I'm sure you've thought about at one point or another, or maybe you know someone who had a sneaky little fling with their super sexy boss? Christina Lauren sure knows about that!

9781476730097Beautiful Bastard  follows Bennett Ryan, the beautiful bastard himself and his stunning, stubborn brainiac business student secretary Chloe Mills. Bennett is heir to the Ryan Media Group empire and recently returned from college and high-powered positions working at L'Oreal Paris, and he gets saddled with his father's pet student, Mills. She turns out to be gorgeous but no one could possibly live up to his standards...could they? Chloe challenges Bennett at every turn and he loves her for it, its the thrill of the fight that gets these two going, and oh boy, once they start, well, let's just say it could not possibly get any sexier...

9781476754147Beautiful Bitch Chloe Mills is finally getting everything she worked for, she got her Beautiful Bastard, she got her degree and she got the dream job. Is Bennett right to want her to slow down? or is he selfish for wanting her all to himself?
Bennett struggles with his new love, deciding his future. Will Chloe's independence shake Bennett's foundations and end it all, or will he love her for who she is and risk everything in trying to prove that love? Its incredibly sexy to see your man vulnerable when he is normally steely and collected and Bennett gets his feelings out for the world of ladies to savour!

9781476731537Beautiful Stranger is the story of the two best friends of Bennett and Chloe, who meet by chance, but through sheer proximity to the power couple are bound to end up together. But the individual past romantic histories of Sara and Max catch up with them, causing all kinds of love-related havoc. Could these two ever possibly free their hardened hearts after a lifetime of cheating partners, womanising, broken hearts and media debacles? Perhaps the smooth talking Brit can change his wild ways and coax the Petal out of her delicate shyness. One girls night out later and the Beautiful Stranger may have done just that...

9781476755090Beautiful Bombshell How would you feel if your fiancée crashed your Vegas bachelor party? Bennett is about to find out, but not through any conventional methods.
As usual Max knows a guy in Vegas and has organised a little quiet time for himself and the Petal, but little does Bennett know, the private dancer in his lap his someone he's been craving and who knows damn well he's been craving her. She also knows just how to push his buttons and leave him bent to her every whim.
With stolen limousines, stolen kisses, a sneaky rendezvous in an empty theatre and all manner of sexy mischief, all of your favourites are in for one hell of a weekend in Vegas!

9781476751405Beautiful Player Will is the sexy equivalent of a science dork in the Bennett-Max-and-Will show. He's known for being an organised ladies man, with a different ongoing appointment for every night of the week. But will the Scandinavian sexpot Hana Bergstrom tame this lothario with her innocence while he tries to help her out of her shell at the request of his lifelong friend and her big brother?
She has loved him for a lifetime, with many of her pubescent milestones spent thinking of Will, but he can't remember her name when the meet again for the first time in years, could this possibly work out when Hana knows that he has a certain reputation and she's really just in it for the science of it all? A chance cancellation of appointments could finally mean that Hana may just stay out of her shell for good.

9781476755106Beautiful Beginning The wedding of the century is about to happen. The families have gathered. The plans are made. Will the craziness of a wedding in San Diego get to Chloe and Bennett, or can their love and passion endure? Bennett has a plan regardless, but his wife to be isn't going to take kindly to it and she'll pull out every trick in her book to bring her man to his knees. This is definitely going to be a wedding to remember especially when you throw in a scatterbrained dad, a stresshead mum, a Mr God's Gift cousin and two crazy man-hungry divorcee aunts!

9781476791654Beautiful Beloved A bomb has dropped for Max and Sara. A baby bomb! Their lives are about to get turned upside down by Hurricane Annabelle and the Brit and his Petal couldn't be happier, but can a wild love life like that of Max and Sara continue on after childbirth and a whirlwind wedding ceremony? Max and Sara are out to prove it can, and one way or another they will get what they want, but Max is afraid of how delicate his Petal has become and holds his love back until he knows she's ready. This story is real and ultra sexy, even with baby vomit, torn dresses and spilled pasta thrown in!

9781476778006Beautiful Secret Niall is Max Stella's baby brother - is it possible that this much sexy can exist in one gene pool? Damn right it is! Only this time, we've got a damaged man in need of a gentle woman to breeze into his life. Enter Ruby Miller, the up-and-coming California girl turned London engineer.
Ruby is enamoured by her firm's top urban planning exec, Mr Niall Stella, Sexiest Man Alive, but he's recently divorced, recently relocated and all kinds of an emotional wreck. Ruby think he doesn't know she exists but a flirty night time flight changes all of that. His bruised heart is awakened by Ruby and their surprising romance is witnessed by all the old Beautiful crew as well as some of the new Wild Seasons bunch. This is an international romp that will keep your emotions high and your hopes alive until the very end!

All of the Beautiful series is available in store and online through QBD the Bookshop, with Beautiful Beloved existing exclusively as an ebook. If you need a series you can dive into headlong into and exist happily without oxygen for four full length novels and four novellas, pick up your copy of Beautiful Bastard and jump right into the world of the best characters you'll ever read!

Ruin & Rule by Pepper Winters

9781455589333

If you've ever wondered what Romeo and Juliet would be like if you crossed it with Sons of Anarchy, Ruin & Rule is your answer. Tightly wrapped in leather and unrequited love, this was a slow build to a heart rending finish. Just like the star crossed lovers of Shakespeare's tale.

Pepper Winters has created two AMAZING characters in Arthur Killian and Cleo Price, I don't think I've ever been more interested in finding out a character's history than I was in finding out about Cleo's past. The amnesia aspect seemed a little cheesy and cliched at first, but it grew to be the great catalyst of the story, along with the dark, broken mystery that is Arthur Killian.

With flashbacks and change of perspective, Winters moved through plot points seamlessly and delivered a succinct story with incredible characterisation and chilling twists. I have so much hope for Cleo and Art, and I cannot wait to see where they go next!

Perfect for fans of Chantal Fernando and Joanna Wyld.

Note: This title is available from the 1/9/2015

The Romance For Paperback Is Alive

Love is in the air and none other than romance novelist herself, Jane Austen, is behind it. We have a soft spot for any romance that sparks from books and the flame burns bright in the newest QBD Book Hipster video.

RomanceQBDBookHipsterMeme2

Watch Alex be hit by Cupid’s arrow and transform into an Austen-approved courteous sweetheart. He may have found his ultimate hipster girlfriend! See the magic unfold here.

Alex isn’t the only one that’s gushing with feelings of love. Read our Book Hipster Confessions and find out how deeply in love these book readers really are! Click here to read what we mean.

QBD Book Hipster Confession Seamus