Blog

Page: 1

Tag / QBD Tea Tree Plaza


These are a few of our favourite things…

This week our Tea Tree Plaza team feature their favourite books under our Spotlight!
Is your favourite here?

A Dog's Purpose by W B Cameron:

Toby the dog begins life as a stray born on the streets with his family. Only for them to be picked up and taken to a dog shelter run by a caring lady called Senora.
Unfortunately the shelter is unlicensed and Senora gets arrested leaving all the dogs to be taken to the local pound. Sadly to be later put to sleep.
To his amazement Toby is reborn in a puppy mill as a beautiful Golden Retriever named Bailey. One day Bailey escapes & is picked up and left to die in a hot vehicle. He is rescued by a lady just in time who takes him home to her family and introduces him to her 8year old son named Ethan. Bailey and Ethan become best friends as they spend many happy years hanging out, playing games and going on adventures.
His next incarnation is as a female German Shepherd called Ellie. Whose purpose is as a police search and rescue dog which she loves doing until one day she is injured.
Finally we see his real purpose become clear as he finds himself reborn as a black Labrador called Buddy.
This book is written through a dog's eyes and will make you smile, laugh and cry as we see every dog really does have a purpose in life, not just to love and protect their humans.
If you have ever loved a dog this is a must read of the true unconditional love that they give. - Julie

The Fabulous Friend Machine by Nick Bland:

Nick Bland who you are probably more familiar with from his Cranky Bear series has captured the modern day “stranger danger” for toddlers and all ages exceptionally well.
A chicken affectionately called Popcorn ventures into the world of “online” and we follow her footsteps as she learns that not all “friends” are true. A easy tool for parents to start the conversation about online awareness and still have a chuckle about why that chicken did cross the road.
Delightfully illustrated and well thought out with lessons for all of us. - Melanie

A Room of One's Own by Virginia Woolf:

Written almost a century ago, the relevance of Woolf's essay in 2017 is remarkable. A short and empowering read, this book highlights the struggles of women in pursuing education and the arts, as Woolf examines the history of social and legal obstacles women faced leading up to her own experience studying in a university. Looking at the limitations placed on women throughout history she encourages the modern woman to embrace every opportunity available to them now, and use them to follow their passions to honour the women who couldn't.
I'd definitely recommend this read to any fans of modern feminist writers such as: Roxane Gay, Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie, and Clementine Ford. - Kirsty

The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski:

The Last Wish is the prequel to the book series by Polish author Andrzej Sapkowski that spawned one of the most loved and immersive fantasy game series in the world, The Witcher. As those already familiar with the game would know, the Witcher Saga follows Geralt of Rivia, a white-haired monster slayer, better known in this world and in the books namesake as a Witcher. The books are set during a turmoil political period on the Continent, where Geralt, who once fought monsters for coin, finds himself increasingly dragged into the issues of the warring kingdoms of the Continent; as those in positions of power find themselves wanting his Witcher Senses at their disposal. The Last Wish however is a series of short stories, each chapter broken up by a more continuous plot that helps set up the world, with each chapter regaling us with some of Geralt’s most famous exploits and giving us backstory on how he met some of the colourful…or dark characters that become regular fixtures throughout the series. I found myself completely immersed in Andrzej world, with touches of European and polish mythology that can be outright horrifying, and political plots that rival that of George R. R. Martin it is a series that all fans with an interest in medieval European fantasy should find themselves devouring, and to those who have played the games I hardly need to make an argument to you other than you will discover why CD Projekt Red decided to turn this dark but immersive world into a video game. I recommend this book and its subsequent series for fans of authors such as Robert Jordan, Brandon Sanderson, George R. R. Martin, and of course Tolkien. - Ashley

Spotlight on QBD Tea Tree Plaza 2016

 

Join our Tea Tree Plaza team as they travel through the pages of great literature in this week's Spotlight on QBD!

 

Saga by Brian K Vaughan & Fiona Staples:

Saga is a captivating and impressive comic that chronicles the journey of two former soldiers from warring planets as they try to escape capture and find safety for themselves and their newborn daughter.
This graphic novel series has soared in popularity, and it’s not hard to tell why. Their story has been compared to Harry Potter meets Game of Thrones, a magical sci-fi comic for adults. Brian K Vaughan and Fiona Staples weave a rich and complicated narrative that never drops off, and will have you rushing to read the next volume the second you finish. - Kirsty

9780571321483Porcelain by Moby:

A week ago I was kicking myself for forgetting to bring a book with me on my flight to Sydney. A last minute decision to purchase Moby's autobiography Porcelain was the best one I've made in a while. A provokingly raw and honest account of his rise to fame from the poverty of Connecticut, the squalor of the meat packing district of New York and ending abruptly right before the pinnacle record of his career Play.
Even without the account of what is ultimately his most celebrated work Moby take's you for a ride through the coming of age of a genre cemented firmly at the forefront of the 90's till now.
Porcelain is about making it, losing it, loving it and hating it. It's about finding your people, and your place, thinking you've lost them both, and then, finally, somehow, creating something sublime. - Melanie

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde:

A tale of grim reflection on vanity, and how a man's indulgence leads to his ultimately tulmultuous existence.
Wilde weaves dialogue seamlessly into high suspense prose, dangling us over the slow and corrupt demise of Dorian Gray. Oscar Wilde is no less a craftsman of Victorian Gothic horror writing, with very similar themes to Robert Louis Stevenson's Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. However by no means is this a story of a beastly transformation. This book puts a mirror up to the horrors of human nature and reveals the monster within. - Kat

9781743548059The Dry by Jane Harper:

Fantastically written crime fiction that you will not be able to put down!
This book has so many twists throughout that you will be kept guessing until the very end as to who committed the awful crime in this rural country town.
Federal police investigator Aaron Falk struggles to investigate his childhood friend murder suicide as the townsfolk try to drive him out. Are they merely distrustful, or are they hiding secrets of their own? The longer Falk spends in this town, the deeper the mystery runs. The more he uncovers, the more he needs to watch his back. - Julie

The Vagrant by Peter Newman:

The Vagrant can be a difficult read at first, its unusual writing style giving the prose a distant, dreamlike quality that evokes ancient legends passed down through generations. Once accustomed, though, the prose only strengthens the narrative, as the silent protagonist struggles across a demon-infested wasteland, with his precious cargo in tow.
A deeply compelling, powerful narrative, The Vagrant boasts both a rich, complex world, and a stunning cast of well-realised characters. - Emma

9780340960196Dune by Frank Herbert:

Frank Herbert’s Sci-Fi classic Dune is set 21,000 years in the future amidst an interstellar empire where planetary dominions are controlled by noble houses that are in-turn controlled by the imperial House Corrino. The book revolves around a power struggle between two Great Houses, House Atreides and House Harkonnen.
Due to current political unrest, House Atriedes is awarded a lucrative contract to harvest “The spice”. Found only deep beneath the sands of the barren desert planet Arrakis, the spice or “Melange”as it is called is an extremely rare naturally occurring material and is considered most valuable commodity in the known universe due to it's effects on commerce and technological development. Melange is used in intergalactic travel and upon consumption can enhance a persons physical and mental capabilities granting the user a longer life. Despite its bleak nature Arrakis is inhabited both with colonists who mine the spice and it's indigenous population, a desert nomad-like people, the Freemen who are fundamentally against the mining of Melange on their planet.
The story follows a young prophet Paul Atriedes as he looks to unite the Freeman tribes with a common goal of defeating their enemies (House Harkonnen) in order to improve the ecological viability of their planet. The story also covers Paul’s early life, his adaptation to Dune’s harsh environment and how he looks to fulfil the prophecy surrounding him.
The book Dune is constantly cited as the pinnacle of Sci-Fi fantasy, and with it's rich world building and character development its easy to understand why. I would highly recommend this book to lovers of the Sci-Fi genre or readers who enjoy escapism from every day life into rich fictional worlds.
The spice must flow!!!! - Daniel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week our QBD Spotlight visits a different QBD!
Keep an eye out for your local team.