Blog

Page: 1

Tag / QBD Pacific Fair


Pacific Fair’s Heart Warmers

Our Pacific Fair team have picked out a few heart-warming reads for you to snuggle up with!

Including one for your furry best friend!

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Schaffer and Annie Barrows:

This is a warm, funny, tender and thoroughly entertaining story, that actually has you experiencing every emotion. It affirms that the power of books do indeed nourish our minds and proves that reading brings people together. I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it. 5 stars. - Jo

Heart Thoughts: A Treasury of Inner Wisdom by Louise L Hay:

This uplifting book "heart thoughts" by Louise L Hay, is such an inspiring beauitful medicine with little quotes and messages."Make this your new motto: I go for the joy! Life is here for me to enjoy today!". When the storms roll into our lives we need some sunshine. This book definitely can relate to us all and open our hearts to small things we forget in this everyday life. 5 stars.- Ane

What Dogs Want by Arden Moore:

What Dogs Want by Arden Moore
An interesting and sometimes funny look into your fur babies mind, along with some great photos it also has information from vets who give you some insight into what is going on in there heads and bodies. The section on how to respond is great and easy to follow, if only children came with the same information book. 4.5 stars - Karen

Lang Leav's Poetry:

Lang Leav writes poetry that will stay with you forever. She mixes in beautiful language with unique illustrations to create a masterpiece. About love, life and everything in the universe, there's bound to be a Lang Leav poem for everyone. All of her poetry collections offer something different so you'll never get bored. Highly recommended for fans of Insta-poets like Rupi Kaur and Beau Taplin. 4.5 stars - Annie

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Australia Fair’s Awesome Book Picks!

Our Australia Fair team are incredibly proud of their Science Fiction & Fantasy wall - the best wall on the Gold Coast!
Come on in and check it out over the Easter weekend.

The team have just finished reading all of these great books! Check out their reviews below... you never know, you might find your next armchair adventure!

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

Rarely have I been so desperate to get my hands on the final book in a series. Mercifully I survived the wait, and have been happily traumatised by the ending. Concluding the events from the first two books, Obsidio excelled in the angst of choices against moral compasses, survival at its most dire moments, nothing is ever black and white and one question that leaves you puzzled. Why the hell are you wearing a parachute in space?! Funnily enough, I found in this final instalment of the Illuminae series that the only character that seemed to be in any position to make the hard call, is the questionably dangerous Psychotic A.I. System A.I.D.A.N. -Allison, Store Manager

Blackwing by Ed McDonald:

Blackwing is the first book in the 'Raven's Mark' series by debut author Ed McDonald. Right from the first page this book starts off dark, gripping and bloody. Full of grotesque monsters and beings with god-like powers. This book had me hooked and on the edge of my seat with its detailed world building and strong, fleshed out characters. A must read for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence – Jess

Brave by Rose McGowan:

Very good insight into Hollywood. Rose does not hold back into what people think Hollywood is about glitz and glamour. But her reality was not. Very truthful. Sad at certain points. - Maureen

American Gods by Neil Gaiman:

Meet my favourite book.

Imagine…….that there are Gods. Imagine that they are born from people’s belief, feeding on it and growing strong. Old gods, nearly forgotten gods, new gods of technology or the internet. Imagine that there is only a finite amount of belief to go around and they are getting desperate.

Now imagine that you are just a man named Shadow, who’s entire life has fallen apart and been turned upside down, who finds himself in the middle of a brewing battle between these ancient, modern, powerful, spiteful, petty, brawling Gods. It’ll be fine, right. Right?

Neil Gaiman’s ‘American Gods’ is rightly considered his masterwork. Mixing Americana and world mythology into a sprawling, multi-layered story that is part road trip, and part exploration of human belief. First Published in 2001, it not only won the Hugo and Nebula award, but was released as a 10thAnniversary author’s preferred text version, adding around 12,000 words. It has since been adapted into a tv series by Starz and Bryan Fuller.

“All your questions can be answered, if that is what you want. But once you learn your answers, you can never unlearn them.”

Take the trip. -Imogen

Submarine by Joe Dunthorne:

Submarine is a coming of age novel by Joe Dunthorne. It follows the life of Oliver Tate, a peculiar but intelligent teenager who is interested in psychology. Oliver narrates the story telling of the pursuit of his love interest Jordana Bevan, whilst also trying to find himself. The novel also explores the turbulent relationship of his parents and the steps Oliver takes in an attempt to save their marriage. Submarine is overall brilliantly written and is both a humorous and insightful look into the life of a teenager. - Jillian

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Spotlight on QBD Pacific Fair 2016

Our team at Pacific Fair throw some great beach reads under our QBD Spotlight this week!

Ghostly Echoes: A Jackaby Novel by William Ritter:

This is such a wonderful series. For the uninitiated, R.F Jackaby is a supernatural detective solving crimes of a decidedly spooky nature in 19th Century America – he can be best described as a weird and wonderful combination of Sherlock Holmes and the Doctor. Jackaby is accompanied on his adventures by his unflappable assistant Miss Abigail Rook, along with a rotating cast of ghosts, werewolves, banshees, vampires, and other assorted supernatural creatures. Ghostly Echoes is the third Jackaby novel, and sees Jackaby and Abigail investigating the death of Jenny, the lovely ghost that resides upstairs in Jackaby's rickety old house. Like its predecessors, Ghostly Echoes is full of quirky characters, sly humour, and spooky adventure. If you're a fan of tv shows like Doctor Who, Supernatural, and Sherlock, Jackaby and Abigail are waiting to sweep you off your feet! - Sarah (Store Manager)

9781760113803 Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

“Am I not merciful?” - AIDAN.
This is one of those rare few books that I’ve found that truly blind-sided me. I wasn’t expecting to be so hooked in with the unorthadox storytelling that I wanted to share this master piece with everyone!
In the beginning, it’s just the messages between protagonists Kady and Erza. They had just broken up when their planet got bombed by a rival mining company, launching unknown weapons amongst the people. After cramming all survivors onto any ship available, the skies turn into a shooting-fest. Only three ships managed to get away from the planet. To make matters worse, the AI system AIDAN on the only surviving battleship may not be as stable (or sane) as they all hope. As you get further into the book it shifts more and more to Kady and the AI, and it pushes the idea of how far you would go to protect others. Oh, and there may be Space Zombies if you tilt your head to the side. - Allison (Store 2IC)

The Vagrant by Peter Newman:

From the get-go this book grips you with its fantastic writing and characters which will keep you hooked until the end! A fantasy book with a touch of science fiction, it tells the story of the Vagrant, a silent protagonist who's transporting a baby to the Shining City. Set in a post-apocalyptic world filled with demonic creatures, undead knights and people trying to survive, the Vagrant's trip is not a quick and easy one. This is a must read for someone craving something unusual and original! - Andrew

9780141182674Penguin Modern Classics: On The Road by Jack Kerouac:

With an extremely narcissistic character to read about this story had me endlessly reading. Keourac has completed this story direct from his own diary as he was travelling which is a very cool, inspirational and unique thing to do. The story involves Keourac's travels throughout North America with a friend who roam throughout the country in a quest of self-knowledge and experience. As I was reading this, it feels like all of his ideas were put together all from his own conciousness while travelling and made me want to read more and more. It was a great introductory story for myself to find out what the “beat movement” was all about and has lead me to read more of the other great authors from this era. - Liam

It by Alexa Chung:

A must read for anyone with a passion for fashion or a love for the creative mind.
Alexa Chung's It has everything from awkward spice girl loving teen years, inspiration from all her favourite movie stars to her hilarious yet familiar routine for getting ready in the morning.
Her charming guide into her world of fashion, includes photos, notes and her awkwardly funny opinion on life. Alexa Shows you to be inspired and to rock it out with your own unique style. - Kelly

9781471158254It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover:

It Ends WIth Us is Colleen Hoover's most raw, honest and emotional novel yet. It follows the story of Lily Bloom as she starts her life in Boston, meeting Ryle Kincaid, a gorgeous neurosurgeon who seems like her perfect match. But is he too good to be true? This novel is an unforgettable tale of love, showing that sometimes, it comes at the ultimate price. A deep and powerful story, this one will have you reaching for the tissue box! - Gemma

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week our QBD Spotlight visits a new store!
Keep an eye out for your local team.