Blog

Page: 1

Tag / QBD Erina Fair


Now Read This! Books loved by our Erina Team…

Relax with a great book this weekend!

Our Erina Fair team have put together a list of must-read books for every book lover:

The Ruin by Dervla McTiernan:

Cormac Reilly is about to reopen the case that took him twenty years to forget. The stunning debut novel from your new favourite crime writer.

'The Ruin is a terrific debut and a rare gem: a compelling crime thriller that delivers depth as well as twists, with every page clearly written from the heart' Sara Foster, author of The Hidden Hours.

Responding to a call that took him to a decrepit country house, young Garda Cormac Reilly found two silent, neglected children – 15 year old Maude and 5 year old Jack. Their mother lay dead upstairs. Since then Cormac's had twenty high flying years working as a detective in Dublin, and he's come back to Galway for reasons of his own. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him. What ties a recent suicide to that death from so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?  This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't or won't. If you love Jane Harper or Charlie Donlea you will be a fan of The Ruin. – Amanda

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan:

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan is hysterically funny! The outrageously wealthy families come together for a wedding in Singapore and Nicholas invites his girlfriend Rachel to come. Unbeknownst to her he is the heir to his family fortune and Rachel gets the shock of her life. So much for spending a lovely quiet summer enjoying picnics in the countryside! It's more private planes, lavish entertaining and plenty of females staring daggers at her (including Nicholas' mother). This book has been largely undiscovered for 5 years and is now being released as a movie with an all Asian cast. You must read it before you see it. You will love it and it has 2 more books in the series!! - Allison

 

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris:

A love story set in the most harrowing circumstances and is based on a true story. Ludwig (Lale) Sokdov, becomes the tattooist of Auschwitz. There he meets the woman who stole his heart. Through love and determination they conquer the adversities they face. A must read for lovers of historical fiction – Shirley

 

 

The Novice by Taran Matharu:

The Novice is the first in a series of great fantastic young adult fantasy novels. Set in a world full of demons, humans, orcs, elves and dwarves there is considerable tension between races. The whole series is full of action, thrill and political commentary. Brilliant matters of race and class are disguised in demonic detail. They make you think deeply about your own world while transporting you to their world and keeping you on the edge of your seat. – Madi

 

Anthologies by R H Sin:

R.H.Sin's anthologies encapsulate love, heart break, grief and empowerment. With simplistic form and raw emotion, he is able to relate to practically everyone. Each of his collections, most notably the Whiskey, Words and a Shovel series and a Beautiful Composition of Broken, provide something new every time you read them. Highly recommended for fans of Rupi Kaur, Lang Leav and Amanda Lovelace. - Caitlin

 

 

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine by Gail honeyman:

Eleanor Oliphant is an interesting character that follows her daily routine. She goes to work at the same time, wears the same clothes, and drinks the same drinks. One day her work computer stops working, and when the IT guy becomes her friend, she remembers more about her life than she wants to and refuses to believe it. Will she ever accept what happened? - Erin

 

 

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken:

Alexandra Bracken's dystopian trilogy, The Darkest Minds is set in a world where teenagers are dying from a mysterious disease and only the strongest survive, emerging with new found powers. This novel is captivating from the start with twists and turns at every chapter. You explore the power of friendship and the explicit nature of teenagers. If you have loved series such as, Gone by Michael Grant, The Maze Runner by James Dashner or Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo you will fall in love with this – Holly

 

Artemis by Andy Weir:

It's the 2080's, Artemis is the first and only city on the moon – Jazz Bashara is a criminal. Life on the moon is tough and Jazz must do what she can to get ahead. Andy Weir has done an outstanding job creating a realistic environment that doesn't seem very far away from where we are now. A must read for all sci-fi buffs! - Ezra

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week we feature a new store on our blog! Keep an eye out for your local QBD team.

QBD Erina Fair’s Favourite Reads


"These are a few of our favourite reads..."

9780008201326Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly:

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly is one of the most inspiring and uplifting books I have read in a very long time. The true story of 3 amazing African American women who changed coloured women's rights in America and the country's respect in a landmark way. Katherine Johnson was responsible for calculating trajectories that put the first American human in space and verified the computer calculations for the first American orbit of earth. Dorothy became NASA's first African American supervisor that had white staff reporting to her. Mary was NASA's first African American female to become an engineer. Behind every man is a great woman. Once you have read Hidden Figures you will feel empowered to make your dreams a reality! - Amanda (Store Manager)

9781409151197Kings Cage by Victoria Aveyard:

Victoria Aveyard’s latest book, King's Cage, lives up to the fabulousness of the first and second books in The Red Queen series. The book starts right where the second one dropped off pulling us right back into her world of blood, fire and lightning. Mare Barrow is now a prisoner to the boy that she once loved, her friends are now living on the outside building up their strengths to help Mare escape. This book is now in three peoples point of view, showing the nature of each character and explores the essence of how two different races can combine to make a stronger world - Holly

9781447263227Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell:

Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl is easily one of my favourite books. Twin sisters who have done everything together in the past are now trying new things due to college. Cath, the awkward fanfiction writer, and Wren, the new party girl, go two different ways and experience college completely different to each other. Cath learns that the romance she writes about in her fanfictions can in fact be real, but is she prepared to try new experiences? This is a lovely teen romance/fiction book that will make you fall in love with Rainbow Rowell's writing. For fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven - Erin

9781760291617The Distant Hours by Kate Morton:

A lot of readers are unaware of Australian author Kate Morton. I recommend her to fans of Paullina Simons, Fiona McIntosh, Philippa Gregory and anyone who's interested in historical fiction. She has a true gift for transporting you into her world which at times feels like a fairytale. You will be drawn into the atmosphere, the surroundings, the characters and be absorbed by her talented writings - Allison


9781743317938

The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson:

Allen Karlsson is the 100 year old man who on his 100th birthday decides to escape from the nursing home where he lives by climbing out of his window. He inadvertently becomes involved in several situations that he seamlessly bumbles through. Throughout the book he reflects on the various adventures/misadventures of his life. A totally enjoyable and thoroughly hilarious story to the point of laughing out loud - Shirley

This slideshow requires JavaScript.