Blog

Page: 1

Tag / QBD Carindale


Cosy up with QBD Carindale’s must-reads!

 

Our Carindale team have put together a great selection of their favourite reads for you to cuddle up with in the air-con this Summer!

 

The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond:

A gorgeous novel about love and life; family and tragedy and ultimately finding your place in the world. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Giovanna Fletcher. - Emily (Store Manager)

The Dry by Jane Harper:

An awesome murder mystery, set in a rural town in Australia. Full of twists and turns and deep dark secrets, this is one book that is impossible to put down. Read it before seeing the movie! - Tia

The Beach by Alex Garland:

The Beach follows Richard, a gap-year student who has embarked on a trip to Vietnam that will change his perception on day to day life. The Beach is a dark but riveting adventure that really gets you thinking about the price of paradise. This was made into a movie starring Leonardo Dicaprio. - Nick

Leading by Alex Ferguson:

A no-nonsense and insightful look into the life of a great sporting leader of our time. This book draws many similarities to how Fergie's leadership principals can be adapted in other businesses and the importance of a strong work ethic. A fantastic read for Manchester United supporters and the neutral fan alike. It's hard to argue with the results Fergie has produced. -Charles

Northern Lights by Nora Roberts:

A romantic mystery that has it all; A dark hero, a tough independent female, breathtaking description of Alaska and a criminal investigation with lots of danger. Put it all together and you have a fast paced intense read which will keep you turning pages to the end. - Gina

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh:

This book gives stark, raw insight into the lives of Scotland's undesirables. An incredible, fast paced read that explores the battle between addiction and the will to live. - Kara

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

When I first started reading Vampire Academy, I was worried it would be the typical vampire/werewolf love story but thankfully it wasn't. Compared to other paranormal authors, Richelle Mead doesn't focus on the romance between characters so much that the plot line gets lost in between. The character development is one of the amazing factors of this series along with hilarious scenes. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from focused love triangles without a story. - Cassandra

Spotlight on QBD Carindale 2016

 

There's a little something for everyone as our Carindale team go under

 

our QBD Spotlight this weekend!

 

9781595141743Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

When I first started reading Vampire Academy, I was worried it would be the typical vampire/werewolf love story but thankfully it wasn't. Compared to other paranormal authors, Richelle Mead doesn't focus on the romance between characters so much that the plot line gets lost in between. The character development is one of the amazing factors of this series along with hilarious scenes. Although the Vampire Academy series isn't 'eye catching', it is certainly worth the read. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from focused love triangles without a story. - Cassandra

Maximum Ride by James Patterson:

James Patterson is known for his fast-paced reads, but this one is particularly enthralling. The story follows dangerous lives of seven genetically modified children (who can fly!) and their quest to evade the very people who made them that way. A brilliant read that captivated me throughout the entire series – definitely a must-read! - Kara

9781405924412My Story by Steven Gerrard:

With 504 appearances and 120 goals for Liverpool Football Club Steven Gerrard is one of the most iconic players in football history. Stories all the way from his first game to the infamous slip which cost Liverpool their first title. A must read for a fan of any sport.- Nick

Northern Lights by Nora Roberts:

A romantic mystery that has it all; A dark hero, a tough independent female, breathtaking description of Alaska and a criminal investigation with lots of danger. Put it all together and you have a fast paced intense read which will keep you turning pages to the end. - Gina

9781473621176Leading by Alex Ferguson:

A no-nonsense and insightful look into the life of a great sporting leader of our time. This book draws many similarities to how Fergie's leadership principals can be adapted in other businesses and the importance of a strong work ethic. A fantastic read for Manchester United supporters and the neutral fan alike. It's hard to argue with the results Fergie has produced. - Charles

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara:

If you read only one book this year – make it this one. Following the lives of for New York college students, this is a poignant tale of what it means to love and lose. This book will leave an impression on you long after you put it down. An intense story both a pleasure and a pain in all its extremes – a new standard of writing. - Cara

Girl With All the Gifts by M. J. Carey:

An unexpectedly eerie tale about a little girl forced to attend school classes that she will never use while the rest of the world struggles with the social responsibility of redefining what human nature is. A fast paced dystopian thriller with a large and beating heart – a book you can't afford to miss. - Josh (Store Manager)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week our QBD Spotlight visits a different store.
Keep an eye out for your local team!

Spotlight on QBD Carindale

There's nothing better on a winter weekend than snuggling up under a blanket with a good book.

Our QBD Carindale team have some great suggestions to add to your winter reading list!

9781409157243The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz: The House of Silk is for those who have read all of the Sherlock Holmes there is to read and still want more! Anthony Horowitz takes up the Sherlock Holmes mantle and does a fantastic job of it. He has captured the character and the spirit of the adventures well and gives us a bit of extra insight into the thoughts of Dr John Watson. A compelling read that I would definitely recommend for any Sherlock Holmes fans. - Laura (Store 2IC)

9781406357738The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton: “Love makes us such fools.” This book is by far my favourite that I've read this year. It was, as the title suggests, strange and yet so beautiful. It is everything you wish for when you pick up a book hoping it will be a great read. It was magical, enchanting, alluring, unusual and cheerful. The Roux family has a history of tragic love stories. The story tells us of Ava Lavender's family. First her grandmother, then her mother and then Ava herself and the loves of their lives. Ava is also strangely born with a pair of mesmerising wings. I warned you it is strange! Do yourself a favour and allow yourself to be lost in this amazingly written book. - Haylee

9781447265443Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet: First having read “Pillars” when it was published in 1989 and being in my top 5 books, I decided to re-read it (something I never do with a book). I still found it as engaging as the first time. The reader quickly finds oneself being drawn into this historical fiction epic tale set in mid 12th century, of the building of a gothic cathedral and the lives of the characters entwined in the daily living in the medieval community of Knightsbridge. Follet writes in fine detail which offers action, intrigue, passion and violence with the characters as well as giving detailed descriptions of the building of the cathedral which was Philip's dream, he being the abbott of the monastry. Oh well, I'll just have to find a nice sunny spot and re-read the sequel, World Without End. Another weekend of fine reading coming up! - Gina

9781877008917Stasiland by Anna Funder: This non-fiction book follows Funder's research into the East German police, the Stasi. Funder presents stories of citizens whose lives were impacted in a variety of ways for mysterious reasons, but also interviews those who worked for the Stasi themselves. Funder's talent and skill as a storyteller is showcased here, as this non-fiction book reads as fluidly as a novel. An intriguing and beautifully written read, this book is perfect for anyone looking to get started in non-fiction reading, who enjoys reading drama or biographies, or as a gift! - Belinda

9780141340135Cinder by Marissa Meyer: As you follow Cinder throughout the novel, you feel as though you're witnessing everything that's happening and part of Cinder's life with every detail of New Beijing and the characters that Meyer has created. It's realistic and beautiful at the same time. This story grabs onto you after reading just a few paragraphs. It's a Cinderella story as you know it but with its own unique twists and turns that readers would want to experience. - Cassandra

9780752883304The Passage by Justin Cronin: A sprawling novel that spans countries and generations, Cronin turns the overworked concept of vampires into something completely different. Beware, this is no Twilight; The Passage is incredibly entertaining and devastatingly creepy at the same time. A military experiment gone wrong leaves the world in the throes of vampire-like beings. This new, meolancholic and desolate world will have you thinking about love, loss, and what it means to be human. Perfect for fans of dystopian fiction authors such as Stephen King and George Orwell. - Cara

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.

Keep an eye out for your local store!