Blog

Page: 1

Tag / Pretty Baby


QBD Reviews: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

pretty-baby

How far would you go the help a complete stranger?

One moment she’s there – torn clothes, weathered suitcase, shivering in the rain and holding a baby – the next moment, she’s gone, vanishing into the depths of one of the ever-running trains. Try as she might, Heidi Woods cannot get the girl out of her head. There was something about her in that moment, in her eyes, maybe, or the desolate, distant way she juggled the sleeping baby, that sparked pity and compassion in her. She knows she has to find a way to help her.

So begins a curious tale of two worlds colliding, with disastrous consequences that neither Heidi nor the girl, Willow, could have foreseen. As the story unfolds, glimpses of Willow’s backstory and true identity keep you turning the pages, desperate to get to the bottom of the truth – and she’s not the only person who has something to hide. With secrets layered between lies unravelling left, right and centre, the lines between good and bad blur irreversibly, and nothing will prepare you for the heart-wrenching conclusion to this epic read.

Packed with raw emotion, murky morals and good intentions gone bad, Pretty Baby is a hard-hitting read that will keep you guessing until the very end. With so much lurking underneath the surface of what seems to initially be a simple tale, this is not a book to be passed up!

Book of the Month: Pretty Baby

Our April Book of the Month is Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica. Full of thrills and suspense it's sure to keep you reading well into the night!

pretty-babyA chance encounter sparks an unrelenting web of lies in this stunning new psychological thriller from national bestselling author Mary Kubica

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can't get the girl out of her head…

Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow. Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal—or worse. But despite her family's objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.

Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow's past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she's willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.

I loved this book. I dont often read psychological thrillers but have read the obligatory 'Gone Girl' & 'Girl on the train' which have been likened to 'Pretty Baby', but this was by far my favourite of the three. By chapter 3, I was so emotionally involved with the characters that I finished the book in two nights. I was instantly intrigued when Mary introduced Willow and her four month old baby, I needed to know the fate of these two, I wanted to help them. I was equally intrigued by the dynamic of Chris and Heidi's relationship. They have a teenage girl of their own at home so you can understand why Heidi feels the need to take Willow under her wing but she doesn't seem to be to concerned with consequence. How would a young single mother seeking shelter affect their seemingly “happy” home? Without warning I was thrown into a mystery plot twist that is so twisted, you will be left thinking what is going to happen next long after you've put the book down and gone to bed. - Chaille, QBD Highpoint

This book had me hooked from the first chapter and I couldn’t put it down until I finally found out what had happened to the mysterious young girl on a train platform with a baby. This psychological thriller is told through three different perspectives to give the reader all angles of the story throughout all the suspenseful twists of events until the mystery finally unravels at the end. Fans of ‘The Widow’, ‘Girl on the Train’ and Gillian Flynn will love this! - Katie, QBD Head Office

Mary has a special message for all of our QBD Bookclubbers: 

Book-A-Like: Pretty Baby & Girl on the Train

Processed with Moldiv

Gripping thrillers with a twist in the tail feature in this week's QBD Book-a-like.

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can't get the girl out of her head…
Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow. Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal—or worse. But despite her family's objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.
Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow's past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she's willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.
- Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. She's even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. ‘Jess and Jason', she calls them. Their life – as she sees it – is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy.
And then she sees something shocking. It's only a minute until the train moves on, but it's enough.
Now everything's changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives she's only watched from afar.
Now they'll see; she's much more than just the girl on the train.
- The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins