Blog

Page: 1

Category / Reviewsday


QBD Reviews: Khaki Town by Judy Nunn

A new drama from Australian's best historical fiction author!

Khaki Town, Judy Nunn’s exciting new novel, is inspired by a true wartime story that has remained a well-kept secret for over seventy years.

Khaki Town is the fantastic new novel from Judy Nunn, set in the north eastern town of Townsville during the second world war. It's the story of hostile race relations between the black and white American soldiers stationed in the town and features a host of both American and Australian characters who are vivid and well developed.

The A and C Companies of the 96th division of the American Army are in Townsville to build a new base and an airport, but not everyone is happy to have them there. The White Australia Policy is in full effect and the Australian government is hesitant to have Negro soldiers on Australian soil. The locals though, tough publican Val, girlfolk Betty and Jill, Aunty Edie and intrepid reporter Pete, are happy to bring the new soldiers into their lives. Tensions still arise though and when the soldiers are banned from the town, the situation explodes in a violent and deadly riot.

A fictionalised account of true events, Nunn's latest book demonstrates her amazing skill at character building. Well researched and very realistic, Khaki Town will stick with you for a long while.

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars.

Shannon, QBD Books Rockingham

Get your copy of Khaki Town in store or online here.

QBD Reviews: Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris

Author Heather Morris

Happy publication day to Cilka's Journey!

The sequel to Heather Morris' International  Bestseller The Tattooist of Auschwitz, is available in stores from today. 

Readers  have wondered what happened to Cilka, and this book answers all their questions (and then some!)

QBD's Quick Synopsis: 

After liberation, Cilka is charged as a collaborator for sleeping with the enemy and sent to Siberia. But what choice did she have? She was only a child when she arrived in Auschwitz. 

Cilka finds endless resources within herself as she daily confronts death and faces terror. And when she nurses a man called Ivan, Cilka finds that despite everything that has happened to her, there is room in her heart for love.

Some of our readers were lucky enough to get an advanced copy of Cilka's Journey. Here's what they thought: 

"The Tattooist of Auschwitz was one of my favourite books of 2018 and it was where we were first introduced to Cilka. In Heather Morris’ follow up novel, Cilka’s Journey, the war is over. This should mean freedom for Cilka but she is arrested for ‘consorting with the enemy’ and sentenced to 15 years at the Vortuka Gulag in Siberia. The conditions are inhumane and every minute is a battle for survival. Despite all this, we see the light of humanity shine through as Cilka makes friends and we are introduced to some very strong female characters. Cilka’s Story is one of unrivaled strength and a raw determination to never give up and to survive. A truly inspirational read."

Julie, Woodgrove QBD

"When I heard this book was nearing release, I began to count down the days, eagerly awaiting a story I knew would not disappoint. Continuing on from where The Tattooist of Auschwitz ended, Cilka's Journey tells of Cilka's move from accused Nazi collaborator, to Siberian prisoner for an arduous 15 years.

The challenges Cilka faces are a horribly familiar, but begin twisting into something unrecognizable as she mistakenly garners the attention of the self-proclaimed 'head prisoners'. But through her daily encounters with death and terror, Cilka meets a woman doctor, who takes her under her wing, allowing her to try aid the ill and struggling where she can.

Cilka definitely lives up to Lale's assessment as 'One of the strongest women (he has) ever known', and her inspirational story shows that even in your darkest days, there may be a little bit of room for love."

Kirsty, Geelong QBD

"Heather Morris is back with another gut-wrenching masterpiece from one of the darkest periods in human history. We follow Cilka in her journey after Auschwitz, to the Gulag in Siberia. Sentenced to fifteen years hard labour for what she was forced to do to survive Auschwitz, Cilka shivers her way through the harsh conditions, fearing what her fellow hut-mates will do when they find out her secret. Based on true events, this is an incredible story of heartache, uncertainty, and above all, survival. A must read."

Rosie, Mandurah QBD

Cilka's Journey is available in store & online now. Purchase your copy here.

QBD Reviews: Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Eleanor Oliphant is happy. Nothing is missing from her carefully timetabled life. Except, sometimes, everything. One simple act of kindness is about to shatter the walls Eleanor has built around herself. Now she must learn how to navigate the world that everyone else seems to take for granted – while searching for the courage to face the dark corners she's avoided all her life...

I read this book in one day and cannot stop thinking about it.

Eleanor Oliphant has worked in the same office job since finishing university, nine years ago. Her life is perfectly scheduled with a weekly chat to Mummy, a well balanced food regiment and two litres of vodka each weekend. Eleanor is completely fine and completely alone. But everything is about to change when a small act of kindness disrupts Eleanor’s regimented life.

Honeyman’s heartfelt debut novel will make you laugh and cry throughout. The writing style is unique and powerful with a real sensitivity to the human experience. The highlight of this novel is the character development. Eleanor is such a complex, inspiring character and I found myself constantly being surprised and amazed by her. This book at its core demonstrates how small acts of kindness can have an immeasurable impact. If everybody read this book the world would be a better place.

Orah Rothberg, QBD Books Chadstone

Never have I come across such a memorable and unique character in modern fiction as Eleanor Oliphant.
Eleanor leads a simple life and is a creature of habit. She is happy, but something seems to be missing from her life.
A very original story that is funny, sad and thought provoking that speaks to the power of how a little kindness can help overcome anything, especially lonliness
.

Joanne Leet, QBD Books Bondi Junction

Save an additional $5 on this great read using our Coupon Catalogue Coupons! Sale ends July 31st. 

QBD Reviews: Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

As singular entry in Brandon Sanderson's growing collection of novels, Warbreaker is a fantastic addition to what some may say are some of the best Fantasy novels written to date. Impressive in scope and execution Warbreaker explores a new form of ethereal magic known as Breath. It is this form of magic that sets up the premise of the story. Breath enables the holder to not only obtain talents such as enchanced colour sight and perfect pitch, but Breath may also be used to animate objects to perform tasks unimaginable. With a power such as strong as Breath one can imagine that it is highly sought after, and you'd be right.

In this story you will follow the lives of two princesses as they lives are turned upside down on a quest to save one another from the God King, a being of untold power who's Breath is to be rumoured as unmeasureable, in the ever colourful yet unfamiliar city of Hallandren. Come explore the reasons by Breath is so powerful, yet so very dangerous in Sanderson's stand-alone novel Warbreaker. You'll love it the twists and turns, I promise!

Fans of authors such as Terry Pratchett and Patrick Rothfuss will absolutely love this novel. It would also be suitable for teenagers with a growing ability to comprehend more mature concepts found in adult sci-fi and fantasy novels.

- Liam, QBD Carousel

The Wundersmith is here!

Return to the magical world of Nevermoor! Morrigan Crow's perilous adventures continue in the most anticipated sequel of the year, Wundersmith, a treat for all fans of magic and Wunder. 

Wunder is gathering in Nevermoor ...

Morrigan Crow may have defeated her deadly curse, passed the dangerous trials and joined the mystical Wundrous Society, but her journey into Nevermoor and all its secrets has only just begun. And she is fast learning that not all magic is used for good.

Morrigan has been invited to join the prestigious Wundrous Society, a place that promised her friendship, protection and belonging for life. She's hoping for an education full of wunder, imagination and discovery - but all the Society want to teach her is how evil Wundersmiths are. And someone is blackmailing Morrigan's unit, turning her last few loyal friends against her. Has Morrigan escaped from being the cursed child of Wintersea only to become the most hated figure in Nevermoor?

Worst of all, people have started to go missing. The fantastical city of Nevermoor, once a place of magic and safety, is now riddled with fear and suspicion...

____

QBD Readers our raving about our Children's Book of the Year, Nevermoor!

"If you’re a fan of Harry Potter or Alice in Wonderland you will love this book. Adults and children alike will love the story of eleven year old Morrigan Crow, cursed to die on her eleventh birthday but instead was saved by a man named Jupiter North and taken to the wonderous world of Nevermoor where she has to prove that she is worthy to stay and not go back into a world that she cannot live in." - Jordanna, Chadstone QBD

"A rollicking read, that will leave you wondering when the next one is out. Morrigan's cursed existence fades into memory with a family of her choice as she learns more about herself and the world around her than she ever expected. A great read for kids and big kids alike. Nevermoor and its fabulously strange characters will enchant you like nothing else. "- Caitlyn, Canberra QBD

"Nevermoor is the first in a new series destined to have you desperate for the next book! Like Alice in Wonderland with the quirkiness of Roald Dahl, I was hooked on Nevermoor from the first page. Magical!" - Coreena, Morayfield QBD