Blog

Page: 1

Category / Reviewsday


Reviewsday: The Survivors by Kate Furnivall

The Survivors was one of the most complex, gripping historical thrillers I have read. This is the first novel I have read of Kate Furnivall's, and I was thoroughly engrossed from the first page.

Following a story line not common of novels set in the Second World War, The Survivors is not a story of concentration camps or war scenes, but the aftermath of war and the long lasting effects on civilians who have lost everything. The shadow of war lingers heavily over the characters of this novel. Klara and her daughter Alicja suffered through a long and almost deathly journey to get to the Graufeld Displaced Persons Camp after being reunited after the war. After losing Klara's hubsand, Alicja's father during the war, their home was bombed, leaving them with nothing. Far from finding the safety and security they expect at the camp, Klara discovers that a mysterious figure from her past has arrived at the camp, and she fears for both her life and her daughters'.
Who is this man, and what events of her past have led her to fear him so much? And what did Klara do to fear his revenge?

The Survivors shows the depths of a mother's love, and the lengths she will go to in order to protect her child. A story of love and loss, of hope and of despair, it will keep you hooked from the first page. It kept me on the edge of my seat through the intense war scenes, the thrilling journey to freedom, and a fight for survival. The twist at the end had tears streaming down my face, and I wanted to read this book all over again.

I highly recommend The Survivors for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Love That I Have, and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, or just for any fans of well written and researched historical fiction.

~ Coreena, QBD Morayfield

Reviewsday: Impostors by Scott Westerfeld

Master storyteller Scott Westerfeld returns with a brilliant new series set in the world of his bestselling Uglies series.

The first thing that had me hooked with this novel was how refreshing it was to be back in Tally Youngblood’s universe. I somehow skipped over this little fact – which is handily supplied in the blurb, who knew? - due to my uncontainable excitement over the novel's existence. Diving headfirst back into it all these years later was like coming home.

As I’m sure we all know at this point Westerfeld writes some mind-blowing characters, but Frey has knocked everyone else off their pedestal and claimed her rightful place as my favourite. Despite basically being a walking, talking, ticking time bomb, she’s an insanely complex character with an unexpected vulnerability to her that had me firmly in her corner from the first chapter.

Westerfeld’s world building is superbly on point as always and the changes wrought by Tally’s hand in the Uglies series (which I wholeheartedly recommend reading if you haven’t already!) essentially lay the foundation for the plot of Impostors. I won’t say too much because untangling Westerfeld's intricate web is an experience not to be missed, but there are enough heavy smatterings of action, intrigue and good ole plot twists to keep you engrossed until the last page. With a cliff-hanger ending that is so deviously twisted I barely registered how shocked I was because I was so damn impressed, Impostors is not a novel to be missed.

~ Karen, Tweed Heads QBD

 

About the book: 

Frey was raised to take a bullet.

She's the body double for her twin sister Rafia - the precious heir of the first family of Shreve - and her existence is a closely guarded secret. So while Rafi was schooled in poise and diplomacy, Frey was drilled in weapons and combat. Her purpose: to protect her sister from their tyrannical father's many enemies.

When Frey is sent in Rafi's place as collateral in a precarious business deal, she becomes the perfect impostor - as elegant and charming as her sister. But Col Palafox, the son of a rival leader, is getting close enough to spot the killer inside her. As layers of deceit peel away, can Frey become her own person, and risk everything in a rebellion?

Reviewsday: Jane Doe And The Cradle Of All Worlds by Jeremy Lachlan

Can't get enough Harry Potter? Waiting for Wundersmith?  

Never fear, we have found your next great magical read!

Introducing the Jane Doe Chronicles! A cursed child, a magical realm, and an epic quest.

It's all our reading hopes and dreams come true!

 

When a fierce quake strikes the remote island of Bluehaven, and her father disappears, Jane Doe is thrown headfirst into an epic quest to bring him home.

But this ain't no ordinary rescue mission. Her father is lost in a place between worlds; a dangerous labyrinth of shifting rooms, infernal booby traps and secret gateways. And Jane has to find him fast, because someone else is searching for him, too. A man who knows her father's secrets. A man who has an army.

With a pyromaniac named Violet and the enigmatic Hickory by her side, Jane is about to discover that this adventure is even bigger on the inside than it looks ...

 

"I was captivated from page one. There is action, adventure and mystery around every sentence.
Jane started with a possessed, mute father and had to care for him from a young age in a basement of a family who despised, but also feared them. Jane forged a secret forbidden relationship with Violet, the daughter of the family she was staying with. Violet was a risk taker and enjoyed sneaking around helping Jane. Little did she know that this friendship would mean helping save the world in the future.
The pressure is on when Jane discovers that the entire universe is depending on her to save it. Every world and every dimension will die if she does not find the keys and restore the Manor to it's original state. She finds the most unlikely accomplice who can barely be trusted but is her only chance of completing her mission and surviving the ever internally changing Manor which seems to have a life and mind of it's own.
In searching for the cure for the Manor, she discovers the truth about her past and who she really is. Her entire world changes and her future becomes uncertain. She has abilities she doesn't understand and needs to uncover before it's too late. Gripping, adventurous, fantastical, magical and mysterious. Be prepared to be gripped." ~ Taryn, QBD Chadstone 

Reviewsday: Whisper by Lynette Noni

One Word Can Change Your World...

Lynette Noni shines with the first book in a new Young Adult series that I just couldn't put down. I needed to read the whole thing, needed to finish it as quickly as possible. This was also the first book of hers that I have read and I loved it.

Jane has been in Lengard for two and a half years now. A secret government facility that have been testing on her-- the only problem is she won't speak a single word. They don't know her name and call her only Jane Doe and treated as just another inmate. But things aren't always as they seem.

With just one word-- the first she has spoken in almost three years-- Jane learns about just what she is and what she can do. They tell her that she is special and that they can help her to control her powers, but can these people really be trusted?

This book had me on the edge of my seat as I read through it, I needed to know and every twist and turn just kept me even more engaged. This book felt like a few smaller stories weaved into one and done well, so if you're like me and you enjoy a book that doesn't feel like it drags... this is the book for you.

Fall in love with the strong female characters in this book, from Camelot "Cami" Ward-- a girl who has been through so much and still maintains her heart of gold, to Keeda-- the tough girl who you can't help but smile at. To Jane herself as she learns that it's not the past that defines us, and powers aren't what make us strong-- but how we use them.

All in all if you're looking for a new series that will keep you engaged and leave you will all kinds of emotions at the end, Whisper is for you. The only issue... that book number two isn't out yet.

5 stars!

~ Jordanna, QBD Chadstone

Press START to begin your adventure.

Player One, are you ready to set forth on your next adventure? Are you ready to unlock the secrets behind the fantastical world of the “Oasis”?

Come and flick through the pages of Ernest Cline’s debut novel Ready Player One. Whether young, old, small or tall Ready Player One will have you escorting Wade Watts on his quest to find three hidden keys needed to locate the Easter Egg. The one whom can solve the riddles and rhymes set by Halliday, the now deceased creator of the Oasis, and find the Easter Egg will not only have fame thrust upon them, but they will also become the sole owner of the Oasis; which is worth over half a trillion dollars!

Filled with pop culture nostalgia at every turn Cline’s debut novel is a well-crafted video game-laden adventure suitable for all ages. Don’t forget, Ready Player One is now also a major motion picture which means it’s a perfect time to brush on this novel before watching the movie to see all the characters you love come to the big screen.

If you’re a fan of graphic novels and anime such as Sword Art Online, or Log Horizon you’ll thoroughly enjoy the escapism on offer from Cline. Ready Player One is also suitable for mature kids and teenagers looking to expand their reading regime if they loved authors such as Rick Riordan and Terry Pratchett.

Now, strap yourself in and get ready Player One, the games are about to begin.