Blog

Page: 1

Category / Review


Reviewsday: Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

Explosive from the first kindling down to the last ember. Krysten Ritter has a detailed imagination and, in her debut novel, she weaves a mysterious web.

Protagonist Abby Williams returns to her small county hometown of Barrens to investigate a case of corporate pollution in the reservoir. This case burns a little too bright and hits a little too close to home for Abby, and the fire begins to entrance her, leading her on a downward spiral towards the truth. She didn't really come home for the case, she came home in search of her missing school friend turned tormentor- Kaycee. And she'll walk through fire to find out what happened to her. Did she simply walk away from their hometown of Barrens? Or is there a dark secret waiting to be uncovered?

- Erin Glover

 

Reviewsday: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I love contemporaries, and "Anna and the French Kiss" is up there with the best of them.

Fluffy, cute, beautiful, real, brilliant and imaginative; "Anna and the French Kiss" is an absolutely adorable read that will have you hooked and leave you feeling warm and fuzzy inside.

I love how Anna and Étienne didn’t just have chemistry, but friendship too. They are absolutely adorable together and I just following their relationship – all the little things he would give her, the way they laughed together and confided in each other, the days out and movies – brought tears to my eyes. They were each other’s rock. If I had a relationship, I’d want it to be like theirs (minus the complications with Ellie).

I love how Stephanie made every character important. The “side” characters made you love them (or hate them, it depends) and were brilliantly well developed. They were deep – each with their own story to tell. The beauty of it is that they weren’t just there, a prop the author needed in order for the protagonist to do something or get somewhere, but they were important – they could tell their stories and they did. Not one character was overlooked.

I just – it was perfect. The scenery; the character development; the giggly, mushy feeling in your chest as you followed the story, and which you were left with; the overall ease of reading.

"Anna and the French Kiss" isn’t just about romance, but family, friendships and life – dealing with it, enjoying it, finding people who will stick by you no matter what and making mistakes along the way. It is about endings and beginnings, possibilities, the future, relationships and practicalities and forgiveness. "Anna and the French Kiss has lessons in it for us all.

- Melissa, QBD Plenty Valley

As an added bonus we have hunted down a deleted chapter from the book! Check it out on Stephanie Perkins' blog here

Reviewsday: Nevermoor by Jessica Townsend

 

Step boldly into a Wundrous new world of magic with Nevermoor!

"Nevermoor is the first book in a magical new series and is set to become one of the biggest children's books of the year. The story is at times reminiscent of Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, A Series of Unfortunate Events and more recently A Most Magical Girl. Despite these likenesses, Nevermoor is wonderfully original and captivating read for all ages.

Morrigan Crow is a true underdog; a cursed child shunned by all, including her family. An extraordinary rescuer comes to her aid and thus launches Morrigan and us as readers headlong into a 'Wundrous' new world where she must remain long enough to discover her awesome true calling. A secret society, a magical hotel, a vampire dwarf and a giant talking Magnificat are just a few enchanting elements of this riveting series that will leave you wanting more." - Nola, QBD Fountain Gate

Nevermoor is available in store and online now.

Can't wait to get started? Read an excerpt here.

Meet Our October Book of The Month!

Jane Harper's second novel, Force of Nature, featuring Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk is a gripping crime thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat!
And luckily, it's our October Book of the Month! But we won't gush on...we'll let Jane tell you all about the book herself:

Here's what our teams around Australia are saying:

Following the phenomenal debut of her first novel, 'The Dry', Jane Harper returns with the equally well-written and suspenseful, 'Force of Nature'. Harper successfully combines the whodunit prowess of Agatha Christie with the relentlessness of the Australian Bush. 'Force of Nature' provides a fast-paced read that uses all it's characters to deliver a layered and complex example of crime-fiction. 4.5 stars. - T.S., Innaloo QBD

I loved it! Another spellbinding thriller full of suspense from Jane Harper, just like her debut novel The Dry.
Alice Russell goes missing during a team building exercise in rugged bushland, with Aaron Falk called into help solve the mystery once again. A page turner from the beginning, it kept pace but was a bit anti-climatic at the end. I'm patiently awaiting her next novel! 4 stars. - R.D., Strathpine QBD

Addictive and atmospheric, Force of Nature is suspenseful in a way you simply have to experience for yourself. Jane Harper effortlessly captures a sense of place, highlighting the dangers of the Australian bush as five women try to navigate their way out..and only four return. With a fine line between the truth and lies, and a mini-cliffhanger at the end of each chapter - I could not put it down! 4.5 stars. - E.A., Miranda QBD

Harper lives up to the hype in her highly anticipated sequel, Force of Nature. The characters, plot, and realistic setting are as superb and well-crafted as they were in her award-winning debut The Dry. I recommend this book to anyone that enjoyed Big Little Lies—the book, or the television show—anyone who read and enjoyed The Dry, and all lovers of a good-old-fashioned 'whodunit' story. 5 stars. - T.H., Browns Plains QBD

Jane Harper impresses her ever-widening readership again with this corporate-crime thriller which develops the Australian landscape into a character just as dark, secretive and brooding as the others. Police procedural continues to get its Harper makeover, Patricia Cornwell meets Liane Moriarty with Fiona Palmer standing nearby in a pair of jeans. 3.5 stars. - J.D., Doncaster QBD

Cosy up with QBD Carindale’s must-reads!

 

Our Carindale team have put together a great selection of their favourite reads for you to cuddle up with in the air-con this Summer!

 

The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond:

A gorgeous novel about love and life; family and tragedy and ultimately finding your place in the world. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Giovanna Fletcher. - Emily (Store Manager)

The Dry by Jane Harper:

An awesome murder mystery, set in a rural town in Australia. Full of twists and turns and deep dark secrets, this is one book that is impossible to put down. Read it before seeing the movie! - Tia

The Beach by Alex Garland:

The Beach follows Richard, a gap-year student who has embarked on a trip to Vietnam that will change his perception on day to day life. The Beach is a dark but riveting adventure that really gets you thinking about the price of paradise. This was made into a movie starring Leonardo Dicaprio. - Nick

Leading by Alex Ferguson:

A no-nonsense and insightful look into the life of a great sporting leader of our time. This book draws many similarities to how Fergie's leadership principals can be adapted in other businesses and the importance of a strong work ethic. A fantastic read for Manchester United supporters and the neutral fan alike. It's hard to argue with the results Fergie has produced. -Charles

Northern Lights by Nora Roberts:

A romantic mystery that has it all; A dark hero, a tough independent female, breathtaking description of Alaska and a criminal investigation with lots of danger. Put it all together and you have a fast paced intense read which will keep you turning pages to the end. - Gina

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh:

This book gives stark, raw insight into the lives of Scotland's undesirables. An incredible, fast paced read that explores the battle between addiction and the will to live. - Kara

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

When I first started reading Vampire Academy, I was worried it would be the typical vampire/werewolf love story but thankfully it wasn't. Compared to other paranormal authors, Richelle Mead doesn't focus on the romance between characters so much that the plot line gets lost in between. The character development is one of the amazing factors of this series along with hilarious scenes. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from focused love triangles without a story. - Cassandra