Blog

Page: 1

Category / Young Adult


Book To Movie: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Angie Thomas' smash hit novel, The Hate U Give, is about to become a movie!

Starring Amandla Stenberg, the movie follows the story of Starr Carter, a sixteen-year-old who lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community.

It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, The Hate U Give is a powerful and gripping drama about one girl's struggle for justice.

 

What our QBD readers are saying: 

THUG is a phenomenal book that tackles the difficult topic of police brutality in America. Starr is stuck between two worlds; her private school in the suburbs where she is the only black girl, and her home in the rundown, all-black community which is stuggling with the death of Starr's friend who was brutally murdered by police. Heartbreakingly honest but hilarious and heartwarming. A MUST READ! - Eleanor, QBD Hornsby

Angie Thomas hits an absolute winner in her first piece of YA fiction. Our young narrator/protagonist, Starr, is an inquisitive, thoughtful black girl. Her life is in dichotomy, half spent in Garden Heights, home to crack dealers, drive by shootings and unfortunately, Starr. The other half is spent at Starr's swanky private school on the other side of town. At home she has to pretend to be 'more black' than she feels, and at school, much less. Starr manages to establish some form of equilibrium she is content with, until it happens. Thomas' characters are wonderfully complex, and meticulously crafted; every point is purposeful, every scene pivotal. This brand new author has produced something important and special, I have no reservations in recommending The Hate U Give. This book will teach you real meaning, as first shared by Tupac, of living a THUG LIFE. I wait in bated breath to read Thomas again in the very near future. - Joshua, QBD Eastland

This remarkable debut novel from Angie Thomas tackles the symbolic Black Lives Matter movement in all of its power and flurry. I read this book in one day – it's an absolute page-turner that will leave you with questions and answers you didn't have prior to reading it. If there's one book you choose to read right now, choose this one. - Holly, QBD Miranda

QBD Reviews: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The people of Norta are divided by class, by ability, by blood – red or silver. Silvers are the elite ruling class, endowed with god-like powers. The Reds are commoners, powerless and destined to serve the Silvers. Seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow is one such Red, living a bleak existence with her family in the Stilts. Mare hates the privileged Silvers, even as she finds herself with a job in the Silver Palace, surrounded by those she despises. Then, a shocking discovery – though she has Red blood, Mare has a spectacular Silver ability. Afraid of what Mare’s power might mean, the Silvers declare her a long-lost Silver princess, and arrange her marriage to the Prince. Mare knows one wrong move means death – but when a member of the resistance group the Red Guard approaches her for help, she cannot deny them. Mare must learn to control her new ability, and navigate a world of betrayal and lies, all the while supressing her growing feelings for an enemy.

Red Queen is a fresh and fun addition to the YA Fantasy genre. Mare is a great protagonist – fierce, flawed, brave, and angry with the injustices of her society. The Silver abilities are cool too, with everything from telekinesis to super speed. The Silver Princes, Cal and Maven, are both potential allies or enemies for Mare, and each of them have different motives.  It’s a fast-paced, entertaining read, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesDivergent, and Red Rising.

~Sarah, QBD Support Office

Reviewsday: Joelle Charbonneau’s Dividing Eden

Having read Joelle Charbonneau's Testing series (which has a Hunger Games-esque vibe to it for all of you dystopian novel lovers!), I think I can safely say I was jumping up and down out of excitement when Dividing Eden popped up on my radar.

Reminiscent of The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye, Dividing Eden tells the tale of twin royals, Carys and Andreus, pitted against each other in a battle for the crown after a disastrous accident leaves them with equal claim to the throne. Faced with a power hungry council watching their every move and faceless enemies stirring up trouble, the twins can only do what they've been doing their entire lives – stick together, watch each other's backs and, above all, protect the secret that's been haunting them since birth.

The novel was intriguing from the get go but I felt that Carys definitely emerges as the stronger lead throughout the book with Andreus' story taking a surprising turn that, whilst being beneficial to the plot line, was still a little tough to read through (if you find yourself shaking the book in frustration and wailing “Noooo!”, don't say I didn't warn you!). There a quite a few shady characters that appear in and around the castle which left me questioning almost everyone's motives. Even after finishing the book, I'm still suspicious as to who is really on which side.

Dividing Eden is truly an engrossing read – clear your calendar because you won't want to put it down until you've worked your way through all of the secrets, lies and manipulative madness that await you.

Reviewsday: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

I've been waiting with bated breath to read this book ever since the shock ending of Glass Sword! (For those who haven't read it, avert your eyes and finish it quickly so you know what's going on) I knew it would have to be amazing, thanks to the incredible plot set up by its predecessors, but what I didn't expect was how heavy and intense of a story line it would be.

Mare's captivity under Maven's tyrannous thumb was always going to be hard to read but I felt like it took me forever to get through this book because I had to take frequent breaks - there's a lot of strong emotions bubbling at the surface of this novel, for Mare, her friends and her foes and at times it just got to be too much. It was very cleverly written in that I wanted to keep turning pages to find out what was going to happen next but I personally felt there was little to no relief from the constant turmoil our brave hero experiences.

That being said, the plot overall was rich and engrossing. As well as combing through Mare's struggles as Maven's prisoner, we're given also given insight into the Scarlet Guard's activities during her captivity and boy, oh boy was that an interesting ride as well! If you haven't read this amazing novel yet, pick up a copy ASAP!

 

Book-A-Like: If I Stay & Before I Fall


Heart-rending stories about life and the choices we make feature in today's QBD Book-a-like.

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman:

Just listen,' Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel. I open my eyes wide now. I sit up as much as I can. And I listen.‘Stay,' he says.

Everybody has to make choices.Some might break you.For seventeen-year-old Mia, surrounded by a wonderful family, friends and a gorgeous boyfriend decisions might seem tough, but they're all about a future full of music and love, a future that's brimming with hope. But life can change in an instant. A cold February morning . . . a snowy road . . . and suddenly all of Mia's choices are gone. Except one.
As alone as she'll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all.

Gripping, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you've lost - and all that might be.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver:

They say 'live every day as if it's your last' - but you never actually think it's going to be. At least I didn't.
The thing is, you don't get to know when it happens. You don't remember to tell your family that you love them or - in my case - remember to say goodbye to them at all.
But what if, like me, you could live your last day over and over again? Could you make it perfect? If your whole life flashed before your eyes, would you have no regrets? Or are there some things you'd want to change...?