Blog

Page: 1

Category / General


Pacific Fair’s Heart Warmers

Our Pacific Fair team have picked out a few heart-warming reads for you to snuggle up with!

Including one for your furry best friend!

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Schaffer and Annie Barrows:

This is a warm, funny, tender and thoroughly entertaining story, that actually has you experiencing every emotion. It affirms that the power of books do indeed nourish our minds and proves that reading brings people together. I absolutely loved this book and highly recommend it. 5 stars. - Jo

Heart Thoughts: A Treasury of Inner Wisdom by Louise L Hay:

This uplifting book "heart thoughts" by Louise L Hay, is such an inspiring beauitful medicine with little quotes and messages."Make this your new motto: I go for the joy! Life is here for me to enjoy today!". When the storms roll into our lives we need some sunshine. This book definitely can relate to us all and open our hearts to small things we forget in this everyday life. 5 stars.- Ane

What Dogs Want by Arden Moore:

What Dogs Want by Arden Moore
An interesting and sometimes funny look into your fur babies mind, along with some great photos it also has information from vets who give you some insight into what is going on in there heads and bodies. The section on how to respond is great and easy to follow, if only children came with the same information book. 4.5 stars - Karen

Lang Leav's Poetry:

Lang Leav writes poetry that will stay with you forever. She mixes in beautiful language with unique illustrations to create a masterpiece. About love, life and everything in the universe, there's bound to be a Lang Leav poem for everyone. All of her poetry collections offer something different so you'll never get bored. Highly recommended for fans of Insta-poets like Rupi Kaur and Beau Taplin. 4.5 stars - Annie

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

QBD Reviews: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

The people of Norta are divided by class, by ability, by blood – red or silver. Silvers are the elite ruling class, endowed with god-like powers. The Reds are commoners, powerless and destined to serve the Silvers. Seventeen-year-old Mare Barrow is one such Red, living a bleak existence with her family in the Stilts. Mare hates the privileged Silvers, even as she finds herself with a job in the Silver Palace, surrounded by those she despises. Then, a shocking discovery – though she has Red blood, Mare has a spectacular Silver ability. Afraid of what Mare’s power might mean, the Silvers declare her a long-lost Silver princess, and arrange her marriage to the Prince. Mare knows one wrong move means death – but when a member of the resistance group the Red Guard approaches her for help, she cannot deny them. Mare must learn to control her new ability, and navigate a world of betrayal and lies, all the while supressing her growing feelings for an enemy.

Red Queen is a fresh and fun addition to the YA Fantasy genre. Mare is a great protagonist – fierce, flawed, brave, and angry with the injustices of her society. The Silver abilities are cool too, with everything from telekinesis to super speed. The Silver Princes, Cal and Maven, are both potential allies or enemies for Mare, and each of them have different motives.  It’s a fast-paced, entertaining read, perfect for fans of The Hunger GamesDivergent, and Red Rising.

~Sarah, QBD Support Office

Check Out Charlestown’s Latest Reads!

 
Check out all the great books our Charlestown team have been reading!

A Dogs Purpose by W. Bruce Cameron:

This book is about 'mans best friend' but with a spin...it is told entirely through the dogs eyes.
The best part though is the fact that throughout the book the dog gets reincarnated a few times and as the reader you get to experience what life is like for a dog in a number of circumstances and how these may play a part in the dogs experiences in life. I will admit...I did cry (a couple of times.)
Your heart strings will be pulled (tugged hard in some places.) We’ve all had a best friend who identified in the canine or feline persuasion so we can all relate to what the book is trying to say, whilst giving us a new angle of the story to consider. A fascinating read for all animal lovers and an ode to the most humble, reliable and dedicated member of our families. -Belinda

The Hotel on Place Vendôme by Tilar J. Mazzeo:

Mazzeo’s unique mixture of gossipy non-fiction with historical research is more for the historically interested than the historian. Painting a picture of intrigue and scandal surrounding the guests and patrons of the Hotel Ritz in Paris during the era of Nazi occupied France, The Hotel on Place Vendôme reads more like a soap opera than a history book. From Coco Chanel’s jewel encrusted gas mask being carried by her servants on a satin cushion, to the assassination of Hitler being planned across the bar, images of espionage and opulence drive the rich and captivating story of The Hotel on Place Vendôme. -Jack

The Road by Cormac McCarthy:

The intense apocalyptic story line combined with McCarthy unique writing style creates the most unpredictable and well written novels I’ve ever read. It’s quite a sophisticated text about a father and son taking on a troubled new world, together. This text is 5 star quality with lots of hidden meaning, I would highly recommend to mature readers! -Carter

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas:

The deadly Celaena Sardothien is offered a chance to win back her freedom on one condition: she must compete to become the King's champion.
But what other evil does she stumble across in the King's castle? Get lost in a world of fantasy extravaganza full of love, action and betrayal. - Alyssa

The Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn:

The tale of a son left orphaned, with a murderous uncle intent on taking the family land. Boy turned warrior, turned sorcerer, Shikanoko grows through his own skills and societal traditions to become one of the most powerful men in the nation. In a search for the missing child emperor, Shikanoko becomes the centre piece to a host of people lives and they will all meet their end unless Shikanoko can find the emperor and return him to the Lotus Throne.
Prequel to the Tales of the Otari series, the Tales of Shikanoko is a twisting novel that portrays the folklore of Feudal Japan, as well as a compelling narrative that will have you on the edge of your seat. -Daniel

Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis:

This extremely honest memoir is an essential read for Red Hot Chili Peppers fans. Kiedis explores his failures and successes in this no holds barred retelling of his life. Kiedis has had an adventurous life, from overdosing on heroin to meeting the Dalai Lama. -Remy

Noose by Xavier Duff:

A very interesting read on a part of Australia’s history that is not often talked about. Featuring about a dozen different stories of those who were sentenced to the gallows and how they got there, the author also challenges whether all of these people were actually guilty of their crimes and did they actually deserve to hang? Ranging from the first man hanged in 1788 to the last in 1967 this book gives a great overview of capital punishment and how it largely controversial yet had not power in deterring those from committing their crimes. - Amorette

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week a new store is featured on our blog!
Keep an eye out for your local team!

QBD Reviews: Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba & Taskeshi Obata

Death Note is a manga that is full of suspense, action, intelligence and wit. It follows the story of university student, Light Yagami, a brilliant boy who is well on his way to becoming very successful when he finds a note book, called a Death Note. A Death Note is a book owned by a Shinigami, or God of Death, and it has the power to kill anyone whose name is written inside. Struck with a vision of the perfect future, Light believes he can make the world a better place. A place where those who do wrong are punished. However, that is not as easy and simple as it sounds and Light soon becomes power hungry and ambitious enough to try and make himself a God. Every God needs an enemy and, in Death Note, the role falls to the brilliant, incredible and slightly insane, L.

I absolutely love Death Note. It held so much suspense, action, intelligence and wit. The plot was really well thought out, really intricate. My favourite character is L, purely because he is so smart, yet so insane. I definitely recommend Death Note to anyone who wants a fast paced, engaging and absolutely suspenseful read.

- Stephanie, Strathpine QBD

Want to add Death Note to your shelf? It's currently on sale!
Check out the titles in our Manga Mania sale in store or online now:

Reviewsday: The Gunslinger by Stephen King

Long Days and Pleasant Nights Await in "The Gunslinger"!

The first book in King's seven-book 'The Dark Tower' series, 'The Gunslinger' will be nothing like anything you've read before. 'The Gunslinger' introduces us to Roland Deschain of Gilead, the Last Gunslinger, on his quest to reach the mysterious Dark Tower. Western Gunslinger 'knights' meet interdimensional travel in an eery dreamlike narrative. You'll never be able to predict what turn the book takes next. Far from being disorganised chaos, you will need to pay particularly close attention when reading 'The Gunslinger' and the rest of The Dark Tower series to truly appreciated just how incredibly finely-woven this story is. Not a single detail is mentioned without reason - everything comes back to the Dark Tower in the end...

A seamless blend of fantasy and Western, it won't be long until you'll be back for the second book, 'The Drawing of the Three'.

- Caitlin, QBD West Lakes