Meet Our July Book of the Month: The Nowhere Child by Christian White

 

'Her name is Sammy Went. This photo was taken on her second birthday. Three days later she was gone.'

On a break between teaching photography classes, Kim Leamy is approached by a stranger investigating the disappearance of a little girl from her Kentucky home twenty-eight years earlier. He believes Kim is that girl.

At first she brushes it off, but when Kim scratches the surface of her family background in Australia, questions arise that aren't easily answered. To find the truth, she must travel to Sammy's home of Manson, Kentucky, and into a dark past. As the mystery unravels and the town's secrets are revealed, this superb novel builds towards a tense, terrifying and entirely unexpected climax.

The Nowhere Child is QBD Books' July Book of the Month! Pick up your copy in store or online today. 

What our QBD readers are saying:

"I have never experienced a book quite like the Nowhere Child. The characters practically leap off the page with their vivid natures and stark personalities. The alternating chapters unmask the truth behind Sammy Went's future and Kimberley's past, each segment leaving you begging for more. Christian White has stepped up to the mantle for this phenomenal debut, and is a name to watch in future." - Paige, Penrith QBD

"Fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins will devour this debut novel set in both the past and the present. Sammy Went was taken from her Kentucky home when she was two. Is it possible that twenty eight years later, Stu has finally found his missing sister? Action-packed and dripping in mystery til the last. As the secrets, both past and present, unravel, you will be left questioning who to trust."- Rosie, Carousel QBD

"It's always a breath of fresh air to have an Australian author debut into any genre, but crime is still waiting for its Aussie star. Christian White is that star. With world-building and suspense rivalling Stephen King and characters that could out-charm a Jane Harper hero, 'The Nowhere Child' will have you hanging on until the turn of the final page. This is one novel you can't afford to miss. "- Samuel, Geelong QBD

"I loved this: a slow-burn mystery in which no-one is who they seem. Kim's sense of self disintegrates when a stranger tells her that she was abducted as a child. Determined to uncover the truth, she follows the trail from Australia to small town America. There are some great Stephen King-ish touches and an elegant ending twist. I don't consider myself a crime reader, but I enjoyed this so much!" - Amy, Strathpine QBD

 

Can't wait to get your hands on this awesome novel? Read an extract here