What We Read: QBD Doncaster Edition!

Today our Doncaster bookworms tell us all about what the have been reading!
There's some truly great reads in this list, perfect to snuggle up with on a cold winter's night!

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black:

“Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.”

The Cruel Prince is a treasure – a triumph of character and story. This book is Holly Black in peak form; delightfully dark and deliciously wicked, set in a complex and lush world you can't help but want to visit. If you like faeries, romance, and fantasy novels, The Cruel Prince is a must read for teenagers and grown-ups alike! With swoon-worthy romance, adventure, and whip-smart characters, this is a book I will definitely re-read again and again! (Plus – who could go past this beautiful cover?!)

Perfect for fans of Tessa Gratton, Naomi Novak and Sarah J Maas. - Melanie

Anatomy of a Scandal by Sarah Vaughan:

In this gripping, intertwined, relationship crime novel set in contemporary England. Anatomy of a Scandal shows that whatever class you are born into, your crimes will always be detected. The story line also describes that even if you are married to the perpetrator, and love them with your intense loyalty, the deception and reality cannot be ignored. This novel is about consequences and revenge. It is a story that touches on the Me Too movement by reinforcing that the power of women will prevail and will overrule the evil behaviour of men. - Annabel

Cell by Stephen King:

Stephen King brings us into a world where the mobile devices we use every day begin to broadcast a “pulse” signal when being used that turns humans into mindless, feral, cannibalistic zombies. The story follows Clay, an old fashioned kind of guy that does not own a cell phone, desperately trying to escape the chaos ensuing in the city to get back home to his family hoping it’s not too late for them. King pulls us into a ride of emotions versus the supernatural and shows us that when we are faced with what could be the end of humanity, it can bring out the worst in us and make us do unspeakable things for our own survival and to protect those we love. A roller coaster ride of thrills, twists, and turns, a must read for any Stephen King fan or lover of zombie fiction. - Paul

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli:

Meet Molly, the cousin of Abby from Love Simon (don't you love it when authors use the same universe for their books? I know I do), she's never had a boyfriend, or a girlfriend for that matter though girlfriends are more of her sister's kind of thing. Molly doesn't understand how two people can just meet and be perfect enough for each other that they fall in love, what are the chances of that? That kind of thinking begins to change when she meets Will and Reid, one a cool hipster boy the other a Tolkien nerd.

Becky Albertalli is quickly becoming one of the most recognisable young adult authors, with three books, one film released and a second on its way. She's just what the younger readers of the 21st century needed, tacking issues of self-esteem and sexuality. The Upside of Unrequited is an incredibly refreshing book as it isn't held back by previous generations taboos. Same-sex parenting, pansexuality, and self-love are comfortably part of the characters lives.

This book and Albertalli's two others are some of my most highly recommended books for anyone interested in teen romance and normalising LGBTQ+ relationships. - Peta

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover:

Maybe Someday is one of those books that leaves a lasting impression long after you read it. Her writing is filled with layers upon layers that she reveals to the reader. The choices the main characters make are incredibly real and the emotions she manages to draw upon is nothing short of extraordinary.

This is one of my favourite books by Colleen Hoover and I'm a huge fan. She is that author that I am comfortable to buy without reading any reviews, as I don't think she's done anything yet that I haven't loved. Make sure you find a comfortable spot to read this, you won't be moving until the very end.

“I wanted your heart more than I've ever wanted anything. The second I reached down and held your hand in mine, it happened. My heart made its choice, and it chose you.” - Ravy

Weirdest Stories by Paul Jennings:

Among the drudgery of new found adult issues and the rise of nostalgia at an all time high with the Incredibles 2 release I decided to revisit the stories of my youth, to a simpler time. Weirdest Stories did not disappoint.

I found myself transported back to a childish innocence that asked the question; what if? With stories ranging from plants growing out noses, mind reading, lip smacking with ice sculptures, bullies and a beetle that turn skin invisible, these short stories that had fascinated me in my youth and silently captivated classrooms with their out of this world situations still stand bizarre and entertaining as ever. A true Australian author, Paul Jennings really captures a Stephen King crossed with Andy Griffiths vibe for kids ages 8-12 (and those young adults nostalgic for a bit of Aussie weirdness similar to the tv show and book "Round The Twist" which Jennings also wrote).

I feel a little bit of sadness with the lack of attention these classic stories get now but if you or your child decide to give this book a flick I promise you won't be let down. Other nostalgic books you should visit if you enjoy this include: Spookiest Stories, Funniest Stories and Trickiest Stories all by Paul Jennings and Selby's Secret by Duncan Ball. - Natalie

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris:

If you enjoyed reading Night by Elie Wiesel or The Book Thief then your next adventure in historical fiction should be The Tattooist of Auschwitz. Based on the true love story of Lale and Gita Sokolov's survival in Auschwitz, Lale’s unwavering strength and optimism through the horrors of the holocaust is a beautiful demonstration of the determination of humanity and the triumph of love, even in the darkest times. - Hannah

Every week a different QBD store takes over our blog and lets us know what's hot, what's not and what they are reading!
Keep an eye out for your local team.