Australia Fair’s Awesome Book Picks!

Our Australia Fair team are incredibly proud of their Science Fiction & Fantasy wall - the best wall on the Gold Coast!
Come on in and check it out over the Easter weekend.

The team have just finished reading all of these great books! Check out their reviews below... you never know, you might find your next armchair adventure!

Obsidio by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

Rarely have I been so desperate to get my hands on the final book in a series. Mercifully I survived the wait, and have been happily traumatised by the ending. Concluding the events from the first two books, Obsidio excelled in the angst of choices against moral compasses, survival at its most dire moments, nothing is ever black and white and one question that leaves you puzzled. Why the hell are you wearing a parachute in space?! Funnily enough, I found in this final instalment of the Illuminae series that the only character that seemed to be in any position to make the hard call, is the questionably dangerous Psychotic A.I. System A.I.D.A.N. -Allison, Store Manager

Blackwing by Ed McDonald:

Blackwing is the first book in the 'Raven's Mark' series by debut author Ed McDonald. Right from the first page this book starts off dark, gripping and bloody. Full of grotesque monsters and beings with god-like powers. This book had me hooked and on the edge of my seat with its detailed world building and strong, fleshed out characters. A must read for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence – Jess

Brave by Rose McGowan:

Very good insight into Hollywood. Rose does not hold back into what people think Hollywood is about glitz and glamour. But her reality was not. Very truthful. Sad at certain points. - Maureen

American Gods by Neil Gaiman:

Meet my favourite book.

Imagine…….that there are Gods. Imagine that they are born from people’s belief, feeding on it and growing strong. Old gods, nearly forgotten gods, new gods of technology or the internet. Imagine that there is only a finite amount of belief to go around and they are getting desperate.

Now imagine that you are just a man named Shadow, who’s entire life has fallen apart and been turned upside down, who finds himself in the middle of a brewing battle between these ancient, modern, powerful, spiteful, petty, brawling Gods. It’ll be fine, right. Right?

Neil Gaiman’s ‘American Gods’ is rightly considered his masterwork. Mixing Americana and world mythology into a sprawling, multi-layered story that is part road trip, and part exploration of human belief. First Published in 2001, it not only won the Hugo and Nebula award, but was released as a 10thAnniversary author’s preferred text version, adding around 12,000 words. It has since been adapted into a tv series by Starz and Bryan Fuller.

“All your questions can be answered, if that is what you want. But once you learn your answers, you can never unlearn them.”

Take the trip. -Imogen

Submarine by Joe Dunthorne:

Submarine is a coming of age novel by Joe Dunthorne. It follows the life of Oliver Tate, a peculiar but intelligent teenager who is interested in psychology. Oliver narrates the story telling of the pursuit of his love interest Jordana Bevan, whilst also trying to find himself. The novel also explores the turbulent relationship of his parents and the steps Oliver takes in an attempt to save their marriage. Submarine is overall brilliantly written and is both a humorous and insightful look into the life of a teenager. - Jillian

This slideshow requires JavaScript.