Woodgrove’s Wonderful Reads

 

Check out the books our Woodgrove team have reading!

Full of thrills, spills and #feels, these books will have you hooked until the last page.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris:

In one of the darkest parts of world history comes the touching love story of Lale and Gita, two Slovakian Jews, who fall in love in the most unlikely place, Auschwitz. He was the tattooist who used his position to help others and gave hope to so many when their was none. She was his love, his reason to survive through the most horrible times. This incredible story, left untold for so many years, is unbelievably touching and sad. I couldn't put it down. - Julie

I am Not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells:

“You are evil, said myself. You are Mr. Monster. You are nothing. You are me."
John Wayne Clever isn't your typical 16 year old. Besides working with his mum at a mortuary, he is obsessed with serial killers.. and is trying not to become one. In order to survive high school, John gives himself a strict set of rules to follow: don't hurt animals, always compliment instead of insult, see a therapist.. don't kill anyone. Most of his urges can be curbed with his work in the mortuary and his love for exploring dead bodies, but when a series of murders occur that are anything but ordinary, John must unleash his Sociopath tendencies.. and let Mr. Monster roam free. A great novel for lovers of the Dexter books/tv show and creepy, paranormal YA fiction. - Emily

Origin by Dan Brown:

This is another epic tale from Dan Brown. Robert Langdon, Harvard University professor, receives an invitation from his friend and former student Edward Kirsch, a brilliant scientist and inventor. He claims he will reveal an astonishing breakthrough that will challenge what we all believe about human existence. Just before making his announcement, he is killed. Thus begins a quest by Robert to find his killer and to discover the cryptic password that will reveal Kirsch's secret. - Sue

They Both Die At The End by Adam Silvera:

A heart- warming, tear-jerking book all rolled in to one. Adam Silvera's title may have you thinking that this book is about death, but it is actually all about life. Chance and circumstance bring two people together in a story that will leave you with 'all the feels'. It has now become one of my all time favourites and I will automatically read every Adam Silvera book. - Kylie

The Fourth Monkey by JD Barker:

For fans of Silence of the Lambs and Se7en, comes this twisted and gruesome novel by JD Barker. Detective Sam Porter has been hunting the 4th Monkey Killer or 4MK for years and the serial killer has just turned up dead, but on the killer's body is a clue that there is one last victim so the Detectives must race against the clock to find the victim before its too late. If you love a great psychological thriller with some horror thrown in, give this a go. - Belinda

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini:

This is a story of two women, Mariam and Laila. These women live in Afghanistan with the same man. A man they were forced into marriage with at a young age. This is a story of the struggles and hardships they face at the hands of Rasheed, not only through physical but also emotional abuse. This book is a fictional story about fictional women based on the real struggles women in the Middle East face every day. A must read. - Evelyn

This slideshow requires JavaScript.