Cosy up with QBD Carindale’s must-reads!

 

Our Carindale team have put together a great selection of their favourite reads for you to cuddle up with in the air-con this Summer!

 

The Beach Cafe by Lucy Diamond:

A gorgeous novel about love and life; family and tragedy and ultimately finding your place in the world. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jill Mansell and Giovanna Fletcher. - Emily (Store Manager)

The Dry by Jane Harper:

An awesome murder mystery, set in a rural town in Australia. Full of twists and turns and deep dark secrets, this is one book that is impossible to put down. Read it before seeing the movie! - Tia

The Beach by Alex Garland:

The Beach follows Richard, a gap-year student who has embarked on a trip to Vietnam that will change his perception on day to day life. The Beach is a dark but riveting adventure that really gets you thinking about the price of paradise. This was made into a movie starring Leonardo Dicaprio. - Nick

Leading by Alex Ferguson:

A no-nonsense and insightful look into the life of a great sporting leader of our time. This book draws many similarities to how Fergie's leadership principals can be adapted in other businesses and the importance of a strong work ethic. A fantastic read for Manchester United supporters and the neutral fan alike. It's hard to argue with the results Fergie has produced. -Charles

Northern Lights by Nora Roberts:

A romantic mystery that has it all; A dark hero, a tough independent female, breathtaking description of Alaska and a criminal investigation with lots of danger. Put it all together and you have a fast paced intense read which will keep you turning pages to the end. - Gina

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh:

This book gives stark, raw insight into the lives of Scotland's undesirables. An incredible, fast paced read that explores the battle between addiction and the will to live. - Kara

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead:

When I first started reading Vampire Academy, I was worried it would be the typical vampire/werewolf love story but thankfully it wasn't. Compared to other paranormal authors, Richelle Mead doesn't focus on the romance between characters so much that the plot line gets lost in between. The character development is one of the amazing factors of this series along with hilarious scenes. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who wants to get away from focused love triangles without a story. - Cassandra