QBD Erina Fair’s Favourite Reads


"These are a few of our favourite reads..."

9780008201326Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly:

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly is one of the most inspiring and uplifting books I have read in a very long time. The true story of 3 amazing African American women who changed coloured women's rights in America and the country's respect in a landmark way. Katherine Johnson was responsible for calculating trajectories that put the first American human in space and verified the computer calculations for the first American orbit of earth. Dorothy became NASA's first African American supervisor that had white staff reporting to her. Mary was NASA's first African American female to become an engineer. Behind every man is a great woman. Once you have read Hidden Figures you will feel empowered to make your dreams a reality! - Amanda (Store Manager)

9781409151197Kings Cage by Victoria Aveyard:

Victoria Aveyard’s latest book, King's Cage, lives up to the fabulousness of the first and second books in The Red Queen series. The book starts right where the second one dropped off pulling us right back into her world of blood, fire and lightning. Mare Barrow is now a prisoner to the boy that she once loved, her friends are now living on the outside building up their strengths to help Mare escape. This book is now in three peoples point of view, showing the nature of each character and explores the essence of how two different races can combine to make a stronger world - Holly

9781447263227Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell:

Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl is easily one of my favourite books. Twin sisters who have done everything together in the past are now trying new things due to college. Cath, the awkward fanfiction writer, and Wren, the new party girl, go two different ways and experience college completely different to each other. Cath learns that the romance she writes about in her fanfictions can in fact be real, but is she prepared to try new experiences? This is a lovely teen romance/fiction book that will make you fall in love with Rainbow Rowell's writing. For fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven - Erin

9781760291617The Distant Hours by Kate Morton:

A lot of readers are unaware of Australian author Kate Morton. I recommend her to fans of Paullina Simons, Fiona McIntosh, Philippa Gregory and anyone who's interested in historical fiction. She has a true gift for transporting you into her world which at times feels like a fairytale. You will be drawn into the atmosphere, the surroundings, the characters and be absorbed by her talented writings - Allison


9781743317938

The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson:

Allen Karlsson is the 100 year old man who on his 100th birthday decides to escape from the nursing home where he lives by climbing out of his window. He inadvertently becomes involved in several situations that he seamlessly bumbles through. Throughout the book he reflects on the various adventures/misadventures of his life. A totally enjoyable and thoroughly hilarious story to the point of laughing out loud - Shirley

This slideshow requires JavaScript.