Spotlight on QBD Strathpine 2016

 

Our Strathpine team have dazzled us with their reviews of some of our best-selling books this week!

 

Daughter of the Empire by Raymond E. Feist and Janny Wurts:

9780007349159 Mara is thrust into a deadly game of politics when her father and brother are killed in battle. As the sole survivor of the Acoma house, she struggles to re-build the family fortunes, while trying to survive a blood feud against one of the most powerful houses, the Minwanabi. Mara must make bold, innovative moves in the Great Game of politics, where murder is applauded - as long as the correct procedures are followed.
This series is set in the world of Kelewan, which is in Raymond E. Feist's Magician series. There are a few crossovers, but don't panic if you haven't read Magician - Daughter of the Empire can be read as a stand alone series.
The politics in this series makes Game of Thrones look like pre-schoolers fighting over who plays in the sandpit!- Sandy (Store Manager)

The Dry by Jane Harper:

Loved it!! I was skeptical at first being a "Crime Thriller" ( not my normal genre )..but I must admit I was totally absorbed from the beginning and didn't want to put it down.
A small country town, definitely with big secrets that are slowly revealed... keeping you guessing throughout with a surprising twist at the end which is very satisfying.
Can't wait for more from this new Australian Author, JANE HARPER. - Roxanne (Store 2IC)

The Crown by Kiera Cass:

9780007580248 What a finale! As someone who throughly enjoyed The Selection series, I was so happy when Kiera Cass decided to add two extra books to the mix. Set in a distant future where Princess Eadlyn must find herself a prince from a list of suitors to appease her kingdom's unrest, I was thrown back in to the familiar rollercoaster of emotions from the original series. Just think The Bachelorette... but with a royal twist! With political turmoil on the verge of every decision made, and emotions pushed to the limits, the ending couldn't come quick enough! Be sure to pick up this series if you want books full of intrigue and excitement to keep you on your toes! - Layla

Akarnae by Lynette Noni:

OH MY GOSH!!! THIS BOOK IS AMAZING!!! The only way I can think to describe it is “like Harry Potter and Narnia had a child”. Akarnae is a wonderful story, by the VERY talented and lovely Lynette Noni, set in the magical land of Medora (which I totally want to go to now) where anything and everthing can happen. I love the banter and easy relationships between the main characters Alex, Jordan, Bear and DC. Akarnae blew my mind and made me laugh, hold my breath and just want to keep reading. Everyone, take my advice: embrace the wonder and READ THIS BOOK!!! - Steph

Spark by Rachael Craw:

9781922179623
This whole series had me hooked from the beginning. I read 'Spark' from cover to cover in one go. It was just so intense and exciting while still having the emotion and character development that you really need in a YA novel. First things first - the covers. Absolutely mesmerising and to be completely honest it's what caught my attention enough to give it a go. Next are the characters who are incredibly realistic and believable. This book and series is just so awesome I can't describe every amazing thing about it so give it a go, you won't regret it!! - Bree

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr:

“Open your eyes and see what you can with them before they close forever”
This book is without a doubt one of the most illuminating and moving novels I have ever read. Following the interconnected stories of blind Parisian teenager Marie Laure and Hitler youth orphan Werner Pfennig, Doerr has constructed a stunning tale that highlights the tragedy of war, the power of family and the ferocity of the human spirit. This book is perfect for fans of The Book Thief – a testament to the heart-wrenching, inspiring and often untold stories that emerge from some of the world's worst disasters. - Jess

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week our Spotlight visits a different store.
Keep your eye out for your local QBD team!