Book of the Month: Pretty Baby

Our April Book of the Month is Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica. Full of thrills and suspense it's sure to keep you reading well into the night!

pretty-babyA chance encounter sparks an unrelenting web of lies in this stunning new psychological thriller from national bestselling author Mary Kubica

She sees the teenage girl on the train platform, standing in the pouring rain, clutching an infant in her arms. She boards a train and is whisked away. But she can't get the girl out of her head…

Heidi Wood has always been a charitable woman: she works for a nonprofit, takes in stray cats. Still, her husband and daughter are horrified when Heidi returns home one day with a young woman named Willow and her four-month-old baby in tow. Disheveled and apparently homeless, this girl could be a criminal—or worse. But despite her family's objections, Heidi invites Willow and the baby to take refuge in their home.

Heidi spends the next few days helping Willow get back on her feet, but as clues into Willow's past begin to surface, Heidi is forced to decide how far she's willing to go to help a stranger. What starts as an act of kindness quickly spirals into a story far more twisted than anyone could have anticipated.

I loved this book. I dont often read psychological thrillers but have read the obligatory 'Gone Girl' & 'Girl on the train' which have been likened to 'Pretty Baby', but this was by far my favourite of the three. By chapter 3, I was so emotionally involved with the characters that I finished the book in two nights. I was instantly intrigued when Mary introduced Willow and her four month old baby, I needed to know the fate of these two, I wanted to help them. I was equally intrigued by the dynamic of Chris and Heidi's relationship. They have a teenage girl of their own at home so you can understand why Heidi feels the need to take Willow under her wing but she doesn't seem to be to concerned with consequence. How would a young single mother seeking shelter affect their seemingly “happy” home? Without warning I was thrown into a mystery plot twist that is so twisted, you will be left thinking what is going to happen next long after you've put the book down and gone to bed. - Chaille, QBD Highpoint

This book had me hooked from the first chapter and I couldn’t put it down until I finally found out what had happened to the mysterious young girl on a train platform with a baby. This psychological thriller is told through three different perspectives to give the reader all angles of the story throughout all the suspenseful twists of events until the mystery finally unravels at the end. Fans of ‘The Widow’, ‘Girl on the Train’ and Gillian Flynn will love this! - Katie, QBD Head Office

Mary has a special message for all of our QBD Bookclubbers: