Spotlight on QBD Willows

Our Willows team have grabbed the spotlight with both hands and aimed it straight at some wonderful books this week!

download (1)Tatiana and Alexander 01: The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons:
This is hands down one of my favorite books. During the few days I spent reading this book I could do little else. All I could think about was Tatiana and Alexander, and what their future held. You feel EVERYTHING when you read this book, as the most beautiful and tragic story unfolds it utterly consumes you. Set in Stalingrad during WWII, The Bronze Horseman is an excellent blend of historical fiction and romance. The characters are all very real and you become emotionally invested in each and everyone of them. No matter what I write, I cannot possibly do this book justice, but if you are a fan of Jamie and Claire (Outlander) or Elizabeth and Edward (The White Queen) then this MUST be your next read. PS. It ends with a massive cliff hanger so make sure you have book #2 on hand before you finish the final pages.... - Maddy

9781906427795Maze Runner 02: Scorch Trials by James Dashner:
All I can say about this book, is WOW! I started reading The Maze Runner thinking it would be an enjoyable enough series to read, but how wrong could I have been?!
The Scorch Trials, carries on straight after the first ends with the group being in somewhat of a safe-haven. Without giving too much away, obviously it's not so much of a safe-haven, and so they are sent back out into yet another trial. Packed with action and betrayal on a monumental scale, The Scorch Trials had me on the edge of my seat the entire time!
Will everyone make it out safely? Who is the ally, and who is the enemy? IT'S SO FRUSTRATING, because you just don't know until it's time for you to know. Frustrations aside, however, this is such a fantastic dystopian novel for fans of The Hunger Games, The Fifth Wave and Gone. A MUST READ. - Gabi

9781760290092Bill the Bastard by Roland Perry:
I bought this book for my husband (who is not a big reader!) to take away on a long flight. He read it and raved about it so much I decided to give it a go. I loved it too. It is a blend of fact and fiction, based on a remarkable war horse. It is truly an amazing story and an insight into World War 1 and the great bond the Light Horsemen shared with their mounts. Particularly Major Michael Shanahan and his horse Bill. They fought together, depended on each other, and Bill's exceptional instincts in battle saved the lives of Shanahan and four of his men. It has some humorous moments - he was obviously quite an intelligent horse who always wanted his own way - but it is also very sad at the end, when the Australians decided to destroy their horses rather than leave them in the Middle East - have your tissues handy! This book is most definitely a good read! - Jean

9780575089914The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson:
When a book begins with such an intriguing opening line as “Ash fell from the sky”, you know you're in for a alluring, mysterious, and captivating journey. Written by the king of fantasy himself, Brandon Sanderson delivers the first in a epic series that mixes a perfect blend of action, humour, and of course, fantasty. Main character, Vin, is a true female heroine who rallies with criminal masterminds and masters her Allomancy skills in order to overtake the tyranny of the Dark Lord. Expect some late nights up reading whilst you delve into Sanderson's world of Mistborns, Skaas, and Allomancy! - Tegan

9780765330345A Dog's Purpose by Bruce Cameron:
Wow....I could not put this book down. Hands down one of the best books i have ever read. It is touching, insightful, and bitter-sweet.
Treat yourself to an emotional ride while reliving the reincarnation of this beautiful spirit. If you are a true dog lover you need to read this book.
I have this book in my collection and read it many times over. I laughed and cried (sometimes in public).
A Dog's Purpose not only the story of a dog's many lives, but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds that hold us all together. The story teaches us that love never dies and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose. I couldn't wait to read the sequel "A dogs journey". - Kirsty (Store Manager)

9781743515860The Book Thief by Markus Zusack:
Set in Germany in the years 1939-1943, The Book Thief tells the story of Liesel, narrated by Death who has in his possession the book she wrote about these years. This novel offers a believable, hard-won hope that is embodied in Liesel, who grows into a good and generous person despite the suffering all around her. Markus Zusak has shown he's a writer of genius, an artist of words.His writing is lyrical, haunting, poetic and thought-provoking. A lively humour dances through the pages, and the richness of the descriptions as well as the richness of the characters' hearts cannot fail to lift you up. This is a book to treasure, a new classic. - Caitlin

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week the QBD Spotlight shines on a different store.
Keep an eye out for your local QBD team!