Spotlight on QBD Morayfield

Meet the team at Morayfield QBD as they share their latest reads

with us in this edition of Spotlight on QBD!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone by J. K. Rowling:
9781408834961Although I am always reading, I had never read the Harry Potter books. My daughter Amy has constantly urged me to read them and I decided to take the plunge. I found this book be an easy read that kept you wanting more. J. K. Rowling's background in Classics and childhood writing fantasy stories shines through! Her descriptive powers are very good, thus when I saw the movie I had a distinct dislike for the Dursley family; on reading the book I found myself wanting to do unpleasant things to them! I really felt for poor young Harry and his horrible living situation. I am eager to go on and read the rest of the books. - Cameron (Store Manager)

Gossip Girl: the Carlyles by Cecily von Ziegesar:
9780755393893Gossip Girl: the Carlyles is one of the spin off series to the super-popular Gossip Girl book series. It follows a whole fresh crowd of entitled, fabulous upper east siders, jam-packed with all the drama from the original Gossip Girl series. If you're a lover of the Gossip Girl TV series, and like me you're having withdrawals from Constance and St Jude's, then these are the books for you! - Mia

Sunne in Splendour by Sharon Kay Penman:
9781447247845If you want to read where George R.R Martin got his inspiration for Game of Thrones look no further than this epic written about the War of the Roses. Penman does a fantastic job of immersing the reader in the lives of the power players of medieval England. The book centres on the life of Richard III, and gives the reader a look at what his life and times were really like. This book is a must read for anyone who loves history and enjoys fantastic historical fiction. - Ashleigh

Seveneves by Neal Stephenson:
9780008132521When a catastrophic event brings Earth to the brink of destruction, the race is on to ensure the continuation of the human race. The only viable option for survival is to get as many people to the only safe place: space.
The first two thirds of the book are devoted to the evacuation of Earth and the establishment of an orbiting colony. Stephenson intersperses the story with complex scientific theories, the finer details of space travel and the realities of living in space yet the fantastic writing makes the complicated aspects easy and enjoyable to read. The hard sci fi aspects are perfectly contrasted against careful attention to the emotional side of the annihilation of Earth and a wide range of characters, some heroic, others sympathetic and some just awful.
The third part of the book fast forwards 5000 years later to the descendants of the survivors and focuses on the rehabilitation of an unrecognisable Earth. Seveneves is a must read for any sci fi fan, a wonderful mix of science and heart that you won't want to end. - Zoe

Broken Empire 01: Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence:
9780007423637From the mud and grit of the mercenary road walks Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath. Heir to the throne, he has instead chosen to lead a band of monsters in human skin on a rampage of revenge. Follow the exploits of this battle-hardened psychopath as he topples kings and attempts to unite the war-torn lands, even if he has to cut the throats of everyone who stands in his way. Fans of “The Painted Man” and “Way of Shadows” or the works of Joe Abercrombie will love this trilogy. Violent fantasy at its best, with a great and merciless anti-hero to boot! - Aaron

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.
Keep your eye out for your local store!