Spotlight on QBD Marion

Our marvellous readers at Marion QBD have some great reading suggestions this week- guaranteed to keep you entertained on these cold winter nights!

9780575108493MacKayla Lane Series #1: Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning:
An enrapturing paranormal series for fans of Keri Arthur and Karen Chance.
After her sister is murdered, Mac travels to Ireland to search for answers. On her quest, she learns she has the ability to see beyond this world, and into the world of the Fae. This fantastic series is full of mystery, action and sex (with a hint of romance). - Stacey (Store Manager)

All the Birds Singing by Evie Wyld:
Despite the novel's inconspicuous first impressions, Wyld proves well deserving of the 2014 Miles Franklin Award. In turns brutal and revealing, once you read of Jake's pain you won't stop until you discover the cause. Although richly poetic, some may find Wyld's style and narrative to adjust to. Rest assured the challenges of the novel are well worth the gothic journey through the Australian outback and rural England. - Caitlin (2IC)

9781471115035Beautiful Disaster by Jamie Maguire:
A sexy bad boy, Travis "Mad Dog" Maddox, and a quiet good girl, Abbey Abernathy are thrown together in this fast-paced story. This book will entrance you, frustrate you and leave you wanting more...Thank God there's a second book! - Hannah

Let It Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle & Maureen Johnson:
This book is written as three separate stories that merge together in the final chapter which I thoroughly enjoyed reading. The final chapter is probably the most entertaining and funny to see how all three stories link together. This book is written very similar to movies such as "Valentine's Day" and "New Years Eve". - Courteney

9781742204178Lonely Planet's Europe on a Shoestring:
Low on funds but want to plan a gap year, or holiday of a lifetime? Need to know the price of a beer in London or a 'live show' in Amsterdam? Europe on a shoestring is a fantastic one-stop-shop for beginners travelling around Europe. It provides invaluable information for itinerary planning and, if required, can be used as a defensive weapon or toilet paper in a European hostel! - Sarah

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern:
Set in the late 1800's, The Night Circus is a book of wonder, mystery and adventure. The imagery on it's own is simply beautiful and incredible, and the story of the two opponents who fall in love is equally as good. Unlike the love stories today, Marco and Celia's goes on for a long time, their lives interwoven through the circus. - Abbey

9780099453987Diary by Chuck Palahniuk:
Palahniuk's best novel since 'Fight Club', 'Diary' is the captivating story of the conflict between dreams and fate, art and suffering. Imagine a crossover between 'The Catcher in the Rye' and 'Death of a Salesman'. Highly recommended. - Kate

The story of Little Mole who knew it was none of his business by Werner Holzwarth:
It was the book that had trouble being published that went on to be a bestseller. Little Mole wakes one morning and (what looks like a sausage) lands right on his head! This children's 'who-dunnit' picture book is hilarious and well illustrated. Perfect for children and adults of all ages! - Elise

9780062414878The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher:
Whether you're a geek, freak, nerd, fandomer, or just a teenage romance lover this is a cute little book to read before bed.
Ana's little brother secretly ditches his high school quiz bowl tournament to attend a sci-fi convention. Ana teams up with slacker Zak to try and track him down before they all get in trouble. They (literally) fight their way through zombies, trekkies, hobbits and Strawberry Shortcake cosplayers in an epic adventure that lasts one very long evening. A very fun story and totally 'adorkable' - I smiled the whole way through. - Holly

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.
Keep an eye out for your local store!