Spotlight on QBD Chatswood

The spotlight has lit up Chatswood QBD this week and they have some fabulous reading recommendations!

9781444761184Doctor Sleep by Stephen King: This is the long awaited sequel to “The Shining”(1977). This follows a now grown up Danny's bumpy ride through life trying to tame his Shining powers. The story includes a range of telekinetic kids, psychic cats and a convoy of geriatric life-sucking vampires in camper-vans. This follows the traditional bizarre storytelling only found in a good Stephen King novel, and it is good to see King get back into his original writing style. I expect to see a rise in popularity with Stephen King novels as it is rumoured that It,The Stand, Cell, and 11:22:63 are all currently being adapted for the screen. -Chris (Store Manager)

Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey: Part fantasy and part romance, Kushiel's Dart tells the story of a woman raised as a courtesan and a spy in whose hands lies the fate of several nations. This story of treason, love, war and survival set in a fantasy-style France is just too good to pass up, with a strong-willed heroine and a rich cast of supporting characters. There are two more books in the series, both of which are just as action-packed as the first. - Elle

9780552996181Behind the scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson: A story that will make you laugh, cry and empathise all at the same time. The story of family life as viewed by Ruby Lennox from conception, back in time to her grandmother and onto her own life. I enjoyed the journey and love Kate's quirky, sometimes dark sense of humour. Looking forward to her new novel which is out in May this year – A God in Ruins. - Tina

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway: 'The Old Man and the Sea' is a classic fiction novel that captures a wonderful ocean adventure. The book takes you on a journey with an old fisherman, Santiago, as he wrestles to catch a giant Marlin in the Cuban Gulf Stream. Hemingway's writing transcends the readers into a world full of beautiful scenery that makes you feel you are a part of it. -Bianca

9781741758955The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows:  This is a truly endearing novel. You will fall in love with the eccentric members of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Written purely in the form of letters, this book is easy to lose yourself in, and difficult to put down. It is perfect for anyone of any age, making it an ideal gift, and I have yet to meet a person who hasn't loved it. - Sacha

Anita Blake 01: Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K Hamilton: This books blends a gritty crime procedural with all the best from paranormal romance. The main character, Anita Blake, is by no means a simpering damsel. She spends more time cleaning her guns than fawning over anybody, much to the frustration of the city's most powerful vampire (who's dark, tall, and french.) Nontheless, it's definitely a fast-paced, witty, and sexy read and is great for fans of Katie McAlister and Richelle Mead's Storm Born series.- Jamaica

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: Jodi Picoult perfectly encapsulates her signature drama with a 9781743318690historical twist in her novel, “The Storyteller”. Sage, a reclusive baker whose past continues to haunt her, strikes up an unlikely friendship with Joseph, a well-respected senior citizen loved throughout the community. As their friendship develops, Joseph asks Sage one request: to help him die.

This novel brings to light the deepest and darkest secrets of one’s past which, despite all efforts, can continue to plague one well into their future. Join Sage as she makes the toughest decision of her life – if one committed horrible acts of injustice in their life, who decided who should live, and who should be condemned to die? - Jackie

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk: An exciting, satirical and psychologically suspenseful novel, Fight Club allows you step into the shoes of an unnamed protagonist as his life is changed forever by the charismatic and mysterious Tyler Durden. There are themes revolving around the downfall of an image obsessed materialistic modern day society, where what you own can end up owning you, as well as the idea of rebirth through self-destruction and freedom in anarchy. - Michael

9780552778091The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce: A beautifully written tale of recently retired Harold Fry in his amateur pilgrimage across England in an attempt to save an old friend from her terminal case of cancer. Harold encounters various characters along the way and reminisces about the events of his past as he tries to find peace and acceptance. Joyce explores Harold's emotional journey in this engaging, easy to read novel, and details a different perspective in the equally touching sequel 'The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy.' - Mahalia

The Secret River by Kate Grenville: A masterfully written novel by one of Australia's best writers (in my opinion!) It's about a convict waterman who, upon gaining his ticket-of-leave in Australia, sets up his family home on the Hawkesbury River. As they become more attached to the land, they discover they are not alone... I love the portrayal of the Australian landscape in this book! So complex. It's a place of beauty and of discord. - Elissa

Processed with Moldiv

 

Left: Michael; Top Middle: Mary Ann O'Connor & Elle; Bottom Middle: Mahalia & Sacha; Top Left: Jamaica & Jackie; Middle Right: Chris & Tina;
Bottom Right: Chris, Dr Karl & Elle.

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.

Keep an eye out for your local store!