Spotlight on QBD Hornsby

"Where our readers meet the writers"

It's all happening at Hornsby QBD! The team have shared what they're reading with us this week- complete with awesome pictures from their recent author visits.

9781743534328The Secrets of Midwives by Sally Hepworth: Three generations of women, three very big secrets!A very well written novel that keep you intrigued and guessing till the end. A great insight into the world of midwifery. - Kellie (Store Manager)

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami: This is a beautifully written evocative novel centred around the themes of love, death and coming of age. Murakami does a fantastic job of confronting intense emotions and leaving you astounded. This is one of my favourite books of all time. -Bec

9780552565974Wonder by R.J. Palacio: This is an inspirational and moving novel which deserves to be read by all young readers. It always manages to bring me to tears and has a uniqueness to the story that has given me the opportunity to write an assignment for year 11. -Emily

Noggin by John Corey Whaley: There are a ton of strange concepts floating around the YA world lately, but this one takes the cake! Wittily written, complex believable characters, and multiple focus points all keep you hooked, not to mention the head-transplant love story base. Unique and thought provoking- a must read for fans of Lauren Oliver, David Levithan and John Green. - Shoshanna

beside ourselvesWe Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler: This is an intriguing and thought-provoking novel about sibling relationships. Fowler has created a surprisingly unique family whose story continues to make you think long after you have finished the book. An excellent read and one of the best books I have read this year. - Mimi

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey: An absolute heart pounding read! When you read from Cassie's perspective, it's hard not to believe that aliens have taken over the Earth and the end of the world is upon us. Twists and turns kept me reading all through the night, and even after the last page I was begging Yancey for more. This book will not disappoint anyone who likes a bit of action, love and mystery, just be prepared for a sleepless night! - Chey

Processed with Moldiv

Top L-R: Nicole Alexander, Ricky Ponting, Jacqueline Harvey; Bottom L-R: Dr Karl, Matthew Reilly

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.

Keep an eye out for your local store!