Series Review: Pushing the Limits

pushing-the-limits-series

This series broke my heart into a million pieces, then glued it back together- it's just so good! It's a series of 6 books, which, in all honesty, have the ugliest covers (you know the saying though!) but are just heart-wrenchingly beautiful novels.

The characters in these novels aren't 100% perfect, but they're 100% real and utterly relatable. Whilst depicted as young adult love stories, the books are so much more than that, in the way that they explore topical issues in a truly relatable way. The books are probably the most mature young adult books I have seen on the market, as they explore the intricacies of becoming and dealing with being a foster child, mental illnesses such as bipolar disorder, and issues such as anxiety, abusive relationships, and loneliness.

Katie McGarry's writing is impossible to put down- her books remind me of 'grown up' versions of Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy and Robert Muchamore's books. I'm more of a fan of novels which skip the hard-hitting emotions and are simple YA love stories- but I absolutely devoured these books. Two hours after starting the first one, I was finished and walked to my nearest QBD to buy the rest of the series.

Fans of Sarah Dessen, Huntley Fitzpatrick and Stephanie Perkins will fall in love with these books, but I recommend them to all- the novels have so many layers they will appeal to almost everyone.

~Emily