Faith, trust and Fairy Dust…

At some time in your life you will have heard of, if not read, a fairy tale or two. Most of us hear about them in childhood. Princes and princesses, witches, mermaids, knights,  magic and fairy dust make for enchanting stories that you remember with a sense of wonder even as you get older.

Luckily as adults the magic doesn't have to end. Fairy tales also provide authors with a rich tapestry to twist and weave anew. Below we have listed a selection of our favourite books based on fairy tales to add some sparkle to your library.

The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer: There's not much we can say about this series without letting loose a heap of spoilers but with titles like Scarlet, Cress, Cinder and Fairest you know these are going to be good. Each title is based on a familiar fairytale and eventually they all cross over into each other!  (which I personally think is the best part) 

lunar chronicles

9781444921373Cold Spell by Jackson Pearce: Ginny and Kai are in love. But Kai is being enchanted by a mysterious girl, beautiful and flawless as ice. When he's swept away by this snow maiden, Ginny knows she has to cast aside her fears and pursue him. In the face of mortal danger, will Ginny and Kai's love hold strong?

Beastly by Alex Flinn: A modern retelling of "Beauty and the Beast" from the point of view of the Beast, a vain Manhattan private school student who is turned into a monster and must find true love before he can return to his human form.

9780755341696Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire: We have all heard the story of Cinderella, the beautiful child cast out to slave amongst the ashes. But what of her stepsisters, the homely pair exiled into ignominy by the fame of their lovely sibling? Far more than a mere fairy tale, this is a novel of beauty and betrayal, illusion and understanding, reminding us that deception can be unearthed - and love unveiled - in the most unexpected of places.

Everneath by Brodi Ashton: Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she's returned- to her old life, her family, her friends- before being banished back to the underworld... this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can't find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists. (Okay, so technically Greek myths aren't fairy tales, but this is SO good it had to be included)

9781447241096Briar Rose by Jana Oliver: For Briar Rose, life is anything but a fairy tale. On her sixteenth birthday, when her parents tell her that she is cursed and will go to sleep for a hundred years when the clock strikes midnight, she's actually kind of glad to leave it all behind. She says her goodbyes, lies down, and closes her eyes...... And then she wakes up. Cold, alone and in the middle of the darkest, most twisted fairy tale she could ever have dreamed of.

Rags & Bones by various authors: A magical and unique collection of re-imagined timeless tales. Read 'Sleeping Beauty' as only Neil Gaiman can tell it. See 'Rumpelstiltskin' through the eyes of Kami Garcia. Rediscover Rudyard Kipling's 'The Man Who Would Be King' through the inimitable imagination of Garth Nix. This is a unique and inventive collection that will delight readers.

Spotlight on QBD Chatswood

The spotlight has lit up Chatswood QBD this week and they have some fabulous reading recommendations!

9781444761184Doctor Sleep by Stephen King: This is the long awaited sequel to “The Shining”(1977). This follows a now grown up Danny's bumpy ride through life trying to tame his Shining powers. The story includes a range of telekinetic kids, psychic cats and a convoy of geriatric life-sucking vampires in camper-vans. This follows the traditional bizarre storytelling only found in a good Stephen King novel, and it is good to see King get back into his original writing style. I expect to see a rise in popularity with Stephen King novels as it is rumoured that It,The Stand, Cell, and 11:22:63 are all currently being adapted for the screen. -Chris (Store Manager)

Kushiel's Dart by Jacqueline Carey: Part fantasy and part romance, Kushiel's Dart tells the story of a woman raised as a courtesan and a spy in whose hands lies the fate of several nations. This story of treason, love, war and survival set in a fantasy-style France is just too good to pass up, with a strong-willed heroine and a rich cast of supporting characters. There are two more books in the series, both of which are just as action-packed as the first. - Elle

9780552996181Behind the scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson: A story that will make you laugh, cry and empathise all at the same time. The story of family life as viewed by Ruby Lennox from conception, back in time to her grandmother and onto her own life. I enjoyed the journey and love Kate's quirky, sometimes dark sense of humour. Looking forward to her new novel which is out in May this year – A God in Ruins. - Tina

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway: 'The Old Man and the Sea' is a classic fiction novel that captures a wonderful ocean adventure. The book takes you on a journey with an old fisherman, Santiago, as he wrestles to catch a giant Marlin in the Cuban Gulf Stream. Hemingway's writing transcends the readers into a world full of beautiful scenery that makes you feel you are a part of it. -Bianca

9781741758955The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows:  This is a truly endearing novel. You will fall in love with the eccentric members of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Written purely in the form of letters, this book is easy to lose yourself in, and difficult to put down. It is perfect for anyone of any age, making it an ideal gift, and I have yet to meet a person who hasn't loved it. - Sacha

Anita Blake 01: Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K Hamilton: This books blends a gritty crime procedural with all the best from paranormal romance. The main character, Anita Blake, is by no means a simpering damsel. She spends more time cleaning her guns than fawning over anybody, much to the frustration of the city's most powerful vampire (who's dark, tall, and french.) Nontheless, it's definitely a fast-paced, witty, and sexy read and is great for fans of Katie McAlister and Richelle Mead's Storm Born series.- Jamaica

The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult: Jodi Picoult perfectly encapsulates her signature drama with a 9781743318690historical twist in her novel, “The Storyteller”. Sage, a reclusive baker whose past continues to haunt her, strikes up an unlikely friendship with Joseph, a well-respected senior citizen loved throughout the community. As their friendship develops, Joseph asks Sage one request: to help him die.

This novel brings to light the deepest and darkest secrets of one’s past which, despite all efforts, can continue to plague one well into their future. Join Sage as she makes the toughest decision of her life – if one committed horrible acts of injustice in their life, who decided who should live, and who should be condemned to die? - Jackie

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk: An exciting, satirical and psychologically suspenseful novel, Fight Club allows you step into the shoes of an unnamed protagonist as his life is changed forever by the charismatic and mysterious Tyler Durden. There are themes revolving around the downfall of an image obsessed materialistic modern day society, where what you own can end up owning you, as well as the idea of rebirth through self-destruction and freedom in anarchy. - Michael

9780552778091The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce: A beautifully written tale of recently retired Harold Fry in his amateur pilgrimage across England in an attempt to save an old friend from her terminal case of cancer. Harold encounters various characters along the way and reminisces about the events of his past as he tries to find peace and acceptance. Joyce explores Harold's emotional journey in this engaging, easy to read novel, and details a different perspective in the equally touching sequel 'The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy.' - Mahalia

The Secret River by Kate Grenville: A masterfully written novel by one of Australia's best writers (in my opinion!) It's about a convict waterman who, upon gaining his ticket-of-leave in Australia, sets up his family home on the Hawkesbury River. As they become more attached to the land, they discover they are not alone... I love the portrayal of the Australian landscape in this book! So complex. It's a place of beauty and of discord. - Elissa

Processed with Moldiv

 

Left: Michael; Top Middle: Mary Ann O'Connor & Elle; Bottom Middle: Mahalia & Sacha; Top Left: Jamaica & Jackie; Middle Right: Chris & Tina;
Bottom Right: Chris, Dr Karl & Elle.

Every week we will feature a different store on our blog.

Keep an eye out for your local store!

Book-A-Like: Girl Online

Processed with MoldivSecrets, Lies and Love?

Secret identities are awesome...until they are not so secret. 

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family - and the panic attacks she's suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love - and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny's cover - and her closest friendship - forever.

Reviewsday: Freakonomics

9780141019017It's so easy to say after every second book that I read, "omg that was amazing, I love that book", but in the case of these two books, I actually do love them, and have read them both multiple times. I couldn't ever be described as a fan of fiction (although I do read some from time to time), however I'm definitively a fan of fact based social commentaries, and these two books would be top of the list.

When Dubner, a writer, approached Levitt, an economist, a decade ago, I doubt either would have imagined the world of Freakonomics that they spawned, and the best news is that we get another dose in June with When to Rob A Bank. The witty and intelligent style of the books mirrors the abstract and sometimes astonishing conclusions about seemingly innocuous subjects like what do school teachers and sumo wrestlers have in common? They 9780141030708also delve into more serious subjects, including crime and how your name can determine your salary & job prospects.

They make statements that may seem controversial or even unbelievable at first, but after taking their unique style to a vast array of topics, it becomes extremely hard to doubt their logic, and ignore their conclusions.